The August Garden: Current Bounty, Fall Plantings

I keep forgetting to take my camera to the garden when I go there to work and I did it again this weekend.  The garden looks remarkably good for August, so having failed to snap some pictures seems a loss.  Usually I’m ripping things out by now – tomatoes, beans, squash.  In fact, I did rip out some squash that had been infested with bore worm, and the Mortgage Lifter tomato plant, which was succumbing to fungal wilt.  Then I did some harvesting.  Wow do I have some goodies.

Wow. No wonder I only spent $30 on groceries this week! Clockwise from top: Blue Hubbard squash, Swiss Chard, summer squash, tomatoes, okra, basil, eggplant.

Once the harvesting was done, I planted some fall crops in the spaces that have been opening in the past few weeks:  carrots, spinach, radishes, beets, turnips, green onions, peas, and lettuce.  Usually I plant garlic around this time as well, but I had only remembered to bring seed packets, not the garlic cloves from the spring harvest.  The garlic I planted this spring in hopes of a dual garlic  harvest, doesn’t look that great.  I think I’ll go back to my fall planting method, which was given to me by an old Italian gardener.

The garlic after harvest in June.

And how about that blue hubbard?  It has a smaller sibling that I harvested earlier.  I think I’ll put them in the oven together.  The big one looks like about five meals for me, so I imagine I’ll be freezing some of it.  If you’ve never tasted hubbard squash, it is much sweeter than other winter squash, and a deep orange color.  It’s beautiful on a plate, and it also makes a good bread the way pumpkin does.

I came home with my haul, blanched some chard for freezing, made a batch of basil pesto, and a puree of tomatoes for sauce.  Dinner included farfalle with pesto, my first such treat of the summer.  Today’s harvest also gave me enough okra for a dinner.  I’ll be making it tomorrow to accompany sole.

I planted two kinds of okra; one spineless and the other a decorative red. Both are delicious.

This entry was posted in Community, Local Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

