Report From the Frozen South: Checking In On the Covered Plants

It’s amazing how a few days of weather in the teens and twenties can make a sunny day of thirty-five seem like a harbinger of spring.  I’ve been wondering how the wrapped plants in the garden did and went by today to see.  The plants I left unwrapped—chard, parsley, leeks, garlic, cutting celery—looked all right.  The chard and parsley were a bit wilted, but past experience tells me they’ll recover.

These lettuce seedlings were well protected by the cold frame.

These lettuce seedlings were well protected by the cold frame.

Of the things I covered, the lettuces had fared the best.  They had gone into the cold frame and looked as though the weather had stayed in the forties.  The first thing I noticed on arriving at the garden was that the covering on the peas didn’t stay completely in place.  There was quite a bit of wind, and the cover had blown a bit to the east.

These look ... freezer burned.

These look … freezer burned.

As a result, some of the peas looked nipped by Jack Frost.  I left the cover on because we’re supposed to get some more wintry mix tonight.  If there are peas left to save, I hope to save them.

I'd look chilled, too, if I'd been out in our recent weather.

I’d look chilled, too, if I’d been out in our recent weather.

The arugula looks fine, a bit flatter to the ground, but some warmer days will have me harvesting it again.  I had recently harvested broccoli at the Plot Against Hunger garden as well and found that the broccoli plants and their budding florets look as though they could take even more cold.  Looks like I can keep telling people to plant winter gardens!

Broccoli is apparently even more cold-hardy than I thought!

Broccoli is apparently even more cold-hardy than I thought!

This entry was posted in Community, Local Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

