Still Early Days: Weeds, Seeds, and Sprouts

I used to think transitional weather was weather with temperatures changing gradually from cold to warm or vice versa.  Now transitional weather means a beautiful 50 degree day followed by a cloudy day in the upper thirties with wintry mix predicted.  I can console myself with the fact that it is March, a notoriously unpredictable month.

Yesterday, there was ample evidence that my fellow gardeners had been in their plots, turning over the soil and planting seeds.  I went to my garden to do a little weeding and check out what was sprouting.

I'm looking forward to more beautiful pink and white radishes.

I’m looking forward to more beautiful pink and white radishes.

I trimmed back some of my herbs.  The peas were coming up, along with the spinach, radishes and kale.  The arugula was actually starting to bolt, so I trimmed that back and harvested some for salad this week.

I also harvested some of the cutting celery, which is coming back nicely.  Never having grown this before, I don’t know if it flowers and makes seeds the second year the way parsley does or if I’ll get to use it again.  I suppose I should look it up.

I added some of the cutting celery to a saute of carrots and turnips.

I added some of the cutting celery to a saute of carrots and turnips.

The nicest discovery of the garden was how well the lettuces were doing in the cold frame.  Remember those tiny seedlings I put in there back in January?  As I was leaving, I decided to hoe between the fence and the sidewalk, where I grow flowers.  I can see that many are coming back, including the columbine, love in a mist, yarrow, mallow, artemesia, sweet peas, and others.  Still, today I went back and scattered some wildflower seed in potential bare spots and covered it all with mulch.  Now I just need to wait.  And keep weeding, of course.

These will make a few nice salads!

These will make a few nice salads!

This entry was posted in Community, Local Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

