So Much Gardening to Do!

There is so much to do in the garden this time of year, and since I work in my own garden as well as Plot Against Hunger gardens at 10th and Barton and the Library, sometimes it seems like there is more to be done than can actually be done.

Broccoli and spinach ready for delivery to AFAC from 10th &Barton.

Broccoli and spinach ready for delivery to AFAC from 10th &Barton.

Saturday, I worked in my own garden, relieved that the snow hadn’t killed off the recently sprouted radishes, peas, spinach, chard, and corn salad.  I stuck trellises in the ground for the peas and pulled a few weeds.  Then I dug an 8 inch deep trench in four three foot sections to form a square and buried screen into it.  I hope that it will protect my pole beans this year from the depredations of voles and rabbits.  We’ll see.

Today, I harvested some lettuces from the cold frame in the garden and made sure the top was propped open so the remaining lettuces wouldn’t get too hot.  Then I checked out the Plot garden at 10th and Barton, harvesting more broccoli and some of the spinach that had wintered over.  I noticed that the beets I planted a few weeks ago are coming up and that the voles have eaten the radish sprouts.  I hope to tidy this garden again soon, once the new sprouts are large enough that there is no danger of mistaking them for emergent weeds.

Kristin has made sure the cold frames are open in the warmer temperatures.

Kristin has made sure the cold frames are open in the warmer temperatures.

The garden at Central Library has also begun to take shape, with spring crops going in as both seeds and seedlings.  When I stopped by, I met Kristin, a fellow Plot Against Hunger task force member, who was hand watering her lettuce seedlings in the cold frames.  We had a long talk about getting the garden cleaned up and fully planted for spring.  Probably there will be a big push in that direction this coming weekend.  Meanwhile, there are some nice looking lettuces growing at the library, a hint of things to come.

These lettuces have done well over the winter in the Library garden.

These lettuces have done well over the winter in the Library garden.

This entry was posted in Community, Local Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

