A Whole Weekend of Gardening: Spring May Be Sprung

What a gardening weekend!  The weather was unbelievably beautiful with temperatures in the upper fifties and lower sixties.  It started with a work party on Saturday morning at the garden at Central Library.  What a great group of volunteers came!  We were able to weed, mulch, plant the peas along the tennis court fence, trim the herbs, and water some of the seedlings that have come up.  The garden is now ready for more intensive planting.

Central Library's garden as it looks at the hight of summer.

Central Library’s garden as it looks at the height of summer.

After that, I stopped by the Plot Against Hunger garden and did some weeding.  That space used to be a flower garden and I realized that some of the things I was pulling up were poppies.  I decided to leave them along the sidewalk edges.  Then I had an email from Puwen Lee that I could pick up the seedlings Episcopal High School had grown for several of the Plot gardens.  This meant planting the seedlings on Sunday.

Cockwise from top left: broccoli, bok choi, chard, and collards.

Clockwise from top left: broccoli, bok choi, chard, and collards.

I got six collard plants, six bok choi, six broccoli, and six chard seedlings.  I snugged them all in and then watered them.  Some of the seeds I planted are also coming up in the plot garden, with the radishes looking especially attractive and the spinach seeming vigorous.  There are some plants that may be bok choi coming up, but my identification is fairly bad (I need help from Don Weber who does such great signage for Central Library), and I have forgotten.  I’ll have to see what they become when they get larger.

One of the bok choi seedlings before I watered.

One of the bok choi seedlings before I watered.

From the Plot garden, I moved on to my own, which has some lovely seedlings from my earlier plantings.  I was able to share some arugula with my gardening neighbor, Alex, who gave me permission to snack on her raspberries—a very fair trade, I’d say!  I weeded, took some arugula, cutting celery, and parsley, and transplanted some tomato seedlings into the garden.  Admittedly, it’s a little early to put tomatoes out.   Still, we have temperatures in the 70’s and (unbelievably) 80’s predicted this week.  I will put row cover over them if it gets really cold again.  Unless you have a greenhouse, there is only so long you can keep seedlings inside.  I’m hoping the tomatoes will be happy.

The garden with its sheared arugula, pea trellises and faint lines of seedlings.

The garden with its sheared arugula, pea trellises and faint lines of seedlings.

I also have an enclosure built for my pole beans.  Last year, the rabbits ate the bean plants as they came up.  Even the voles had never been so voracious.  I didn’t have a bean at all last year.  I’m hoping the enclosure will keep out both the voles and the pesky lagomorphs.  We’ll see.  I’ll plant the beans at the end of the month.  Since I ordered from seed companies this year, I was able to get my favorite bean seeds, Blue Lake pole beans.  I’m looking forward to harvesting lots of them, provided the enclosure works.

The screen is buried 8 inches.  I'm hoping for a bean crop.

The screen is buried 8 inches. I’m hoping for a bean crop.

This entry was posted in Community, Local Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Whole Weekend of Gardening: Spring May Be Sprung

  1. Tammy says:

    Looks like great fun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

