Summer Looms: Making Room in the Garden

It’s been such a lush time in the garden, with an abundance of greens, carrots, and radishes, to name just a few of the goodies I’ve been taking home.  It’s also that time when the early crops are still in the garden and the summer crops have to go in.

Squash seeds went down in the open space, center, and in the foreground.

Squash seeds went down in the open space, center, and in the foreground.

Last week, I planted peppers and eggplants in my garden and this week, I added a selection of squashes—both summer and winter.  I had some zucchini plants, a summer medley from Park seeds, and a winter squash called bonbon, which I have never planted.  In addition, I could not resist planting Blue Hubbard again this year. I fit them in where I had taken out radishes and mache and where I had harvested all the arugula and lettuces.

Broccoli foreground, collards by the fence.  Left, near the collards, will be okra.

Broccoli foreground, collards by the fence. Left, near the collards, will be okra.

In the Plot Against hunger garden, there was a huge harvest of kale, romaine, bok choi and collards.  Where I had harvested bok choi, a space opened up for squash plantings.  There was also space for squash where spinach and radishes had been growing.  I also couldn’t resist planting a row of okra near the fence.

Martin Matthews, a volunteer in the Plot garden, has done some major weeding where the sedge nut grass has been trying to make a comeback.  I followed after him and cleaned up some of the grassy edges before I planted the squash seeds.  Later this week, we plan to mulch—to help keep the plants moist and cool as well as keep the weeds down!

The poppies are a bonus for the Plot garden.

The poppies are a bonus for the Plot garden.

This entry was posted in Community, Local Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

