Fall Planting Starts in Earnest

Yesterday, I spent half a day in the garden.  First I harvested, then I started weeding and ripped out all but one of the surviving squash. I hoed all the open spaces and mulched.  Then I got my seed packets out and tried to figure out what I could plant.  It turned out to be most of what I intended.

This is minus the green beans, sage and basil I took as well.

This is minus the green beans, sage and basil I took as well.

I had planted garlic last week on the border of my plot but was only able to put the cloves of one bulb in.  Yesterday, I put in the cloves of the second bulb.  I planted turnips and cauliflower behind the tomatoes where the Italian kale and cucumbers had been.  One row in from the garlic, I planted the Russian kale.  Between the chard and the peppers, I planted spinach and between the chard and the okra, I put in Tom Thumb lettuce.

Some of the rows I planted at the front.  The sad squash is a Blue Hubbard that seems to have survived the bore worm...

Some of the rows I planted at the front. The sad squash is a Blue Hubbard that seems to have survived the bore worm…

Then I turned to the entry of the garden where the squash had been and there was much more space.  There I put in beets, radishes, carrots and the second row of garlic, and a row of Romaine lettuce.  I also planted a few peas along my fence and some fairly close to the okra, thinking they might work as a trellis, provided the rabbits don’t eat all the new shoots.  I still want to put arugula in, but that can wait until another space opens up.

I'll still be getting lots of tomatoes, okra, peppers and maybe a few eggplants from my spring plantings.  Still pretty lush, especially for August!

I’ll still be getting lots of tomatoes, okra, peppers and maybe a few eggplants from my spring plantings. Still pretty lush, especially for August!

This entry was posted in Community, Local Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

