Ah, Those Fall Flowers!

People tend to think of pumpkins and winter squash and apples in the fall, but really, I always have thriving eggplant, peppers and new crops of greens and peas into the fall.  Often they bear until frost.  The other thing I’ve noticed lately is the flowers.  They are blossoming in all the gardens surrounding mine whose tenants know more about flowers than I do.

These are Jerusalem artichokes, whose roots you can eat, and which you often see along roadsides.

These are Jerusalem artichokes, whose roots you can eat, and which you often see along roadsides.

Don’t get me wrong.  I love flowers.  Years ago, I had a cutting garden.  But I had more physical space then, and now it seems more space in my head for vegetable rotations.  I have lots of flowers in the spring, but then I move straight into the things I can eat, and I stay there.

One of my fellow gardeners grows a large variety of Dahlias.  I've never had any luck with them.

One of my fellow gardeners grows a large variety of Dahlias. I’ve never had any luck with them.

When I think of it, though, with so many people near my plot who know flowers and plant them for all season blooms, I get the benefit of seeing them whenever I go to the garden.  Last year I brought a friend to see my garden and he spent quite a bit more time with a fellow gardener’s beautiful long stemmed roses, marveling.

And I have no idea what this bush is, but the bees love it and it blossoms from spring through fall.

And I have no idea what this bush is, but the bees love it and it blossoms from spring through fall.

So while folks are beginning to put their gardens slowly to bed as various plants stop bearing, we still have a profusion of flowers.  A few years ago, I kept calendulas, which looked marvelous in the spring, horrible through the summer heat, and then provided flowers for my table in December.  I may have to look into calendula seed again.  But probably, I’ll just decide there isn’t any room once I get those veggie seeds in.

All in all, it's a very happy place for the bees.

All in all, it’s a very happy place for the bees.

This entry was posted in Community, Local Pleasures and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

