Denial: Winterizing the Garden and Bringing Back the Cold Frame

Last week I heard someone say “De Nile ain’t just a river in Egypt,” and I was struck by how long it had been since I heard that expression.  It’s also completely appropriate as an expression of my attitude to the garden as fall rolls forward:  denial has kept me happily harvesting and planting fall crops.

The final take:  Some small eggplants, a few radishes, small peppers, and only one ripe tomato....

The final take: Some small eggplants, a few radishes, small peppers, and only one ripe tomato….

Finally, I got into the garden this weekend and took out the tomatoes, eggplants, peppers, and okra.  I turned the soil over and mulched around the fall crops that are coming up, some of them perpetually, as the rabbit keeps nibbling them down.  I despair over the beets, whose greens must be extremely tasty, but I got lots of green tomatoes, some small eggplants, a few radishes.  My chard remains quite vigorous and I should have carrots and turnips soon.

I also took lots of green tomatoes from the vines as I removed them.

I also took lots of green tomatoes from the vines as I removed them.

 

Today I went back to the garden to haul my cold frame back to its winter home.  It needed a little cleaning up, but looks quite good, snugged down into the fresh mulch.  I didn’t plant any seeds in it as it’s still a bit warm to keep the lid closed.  I’m thinking of transplanting my cauliflower seedlings into it soon to keep the rabbit from eating them.

I just love seeing the cold frame in the garden!  And how about that chard?

I just love seeing the cold frame in the garden! And how about that chard?

This afternoon I pickled some of the green tomatoes.  They will need to cure for a week, but I’m looking forward to trying them. Meanwhile, I have some lovely lettuces from a fellow gardener to make salads with this week.

Now if I could just shrink my grandmother's recipe for green tomato mincemeat...

Now if I could just shrink my grandmother’s recipe for green tomato mincemeat…

This entry was posted in Local Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

