The First Snow of the Season

We had our first snow today.  I went out to enjoy it before it turned to the predicted freezing rain.  It was lovely stuff, wet and clingy, presaging the forecast had I not heard it.  The flakes were small and made a clattering noise on clinging leaves that’s more than soft snow and less than sleet.

Nandina, with its bright berries, looks good under its blanket of snow.

Nandina, with its bright berries, looks good under its blanket of snow.

At some point it was coming down strongly enough to make the distance look foggy.  It was also really cold.  Snow often feels relatively warm, but this was bone chilling.  There weren’t many cars out.  I think most people were snugging in, taking advantage of the bad weather to rest.  There was a smell of wood smoke, telling me fireplaces had been started.

The only people I saw were all walking dogs...

The only people I saw were all walking dogs…

As I write, we’re having freezing rain and the snow is starting to look like a sweet crunchy confection.  It’s still two weeks to winter.  Who knows what will happen then?

I bet the rhododendron buds are glad to have their furry coats.

I bet the rhododendron buds are glad to have their furry coats.

This entry was posted in Local Pleasures and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

