Winter Gardening: Ah Turnips!

It has been a few weeks since I visited the garden.  It looks drab, like a garden in winter, but it’s also still yielding.  I went looking to supplement my root vegetables and found that the turnip seed I planted in the fall had developed some nice looking turnips hiding under some vigorous greens.

DSCN2630

I pulled one of them to have a look…

DSCN2631

And took home four.  I’ve already used the greens to supplement bok choi in a stir fry…

DSCN2632

And I plan to roast the turnips with some carrots later in the week.  I like this winter gardening, which involves a lot of rest between harvests!

This entry was posted in Local Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Winter Gardening: Ah Turnips!

  1. They look lovely! Our vegetables are currently drowning… even in the raised beds!

    Like

  2. arlingwoman says:

    They were delicious too, roasted with the carrots. Winter gardening is always a win or lose situation. If things grow and survive, great! If not, well, there’s always spring…

    Like

  3. Tammy says:

    We’re fortunate to have good winter gardening but I am tired of turnips this year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

