A Final Yield From Fall Plantings

It was such a beautiful day today after all our snow and cold, that I ventured out to the garden.  There was work to do—trimming roses and the trumpet vine.  There was also nothing left of my fall plantings except freezer burned foliage.

Not much here but mulch. That brown line in front of the cold frame was my chard.

Not much here but mulch. That brown line in front of the cold frame was my chard.

I did glean some carrots and a turnip, some of which I used in a chili I made for supper.  They were very sweet, lovely, salad carrots. Last year at this time I was planting peas, but we’re apparently due for another cold snap with frozen precipitation, so I’m figuring some time in March I’ll get back in with seeds.  But for now, I’ll enjoy the carrots and do a little planning.

After I washed these, I trimmed off the frostbitten remnants of the tops and those stringy little roots.  These were a sweet surprise.

After I washed these, I trimmed off the frostbitten remnants of the tops and those stringy little roots. These were a sweet surprise.

This entry was posted in Local Food, Local Pleasures and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

