Spring Tantalizes

Finally!  A whole weekend that promised spring around the corner.  I ordered seeds, and now that I look at the list, I’m wondering where they’ll all go, but I’ll worry about that later.  I also ordered a 4’ x 4’ cover for vegetables the rabbit will nibble.  If it works, I may order more.

The rabbits don't bother garlic.  I have ten of these surviving from the fall plantings.

The rabbits don’t bother garlic. I have ten of these surviving from the fall plantings.

 

Today I went to the garden and bagged the trimmings from the roses and the trumpet vine that I had left a couple weeks ago.  Then I did some minor weeding and cultivated the soil.  It looks good, loose and black.  I noted the things that had survived the winter—parsley and garlic.  Then I planted some potatoes.  I know nothing about growing potatoes, so I’ll have to read up on that as they grow.

Four parsley plants from the fall will spring back as soon as it warms up.

Four parsley plants from the fall will spring back as soon as it warms up.

I don’t have my cover for the tender vegetables the rabbit likes yet, so I sewed radishes and beets in the bean enclosure, where they’ll be safe.  Then I experimented with a row of carrots next to a row of onion seeds.  I have heard that the rabbits don’t like onions and garlic, so I’ll be seeing if they’re discouraged.

My crafty carrot and onion rows, with the cold frame and the parsley in the back right.

My crafty carrot and onion rows, with the cold frame and the parsley in the back right.

This entry was posted in Community, Local Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

