Cool Spring, Slow Start

It may have been cold, but the dogwood and redbud came right on schedule.

It may have been cold, but the dogwood and redbud came right on schedule.

The lettuces finally had the courage to come up.

The lettuces finally had the courage to come up.

I can’t believe I went the whole month of April without writing. It isn’t as though I wasn’t in the garden! Both the Plot Against Hunger garden and my own garden have been planted. Seeds have been slow to come up because the weather has been inconsistently warm. I may go out on a warm weekend and plant, but then it … snows.

It’s finally stopped threatening to freeze, so I took my cold frame from the garden. Then I planted cucumber, bean and okra seeds. The beans are once more protected by an enclosure so the rabbits won’t eat the seedlings.

I also planted tomato, pepper and eggplant seedlings. The radishes and lettuces I planted in early April have managed to come up. I look forward to harvesting them soon, and hope to have a new crop of chard. I also planted two kinds of kale—the blue Russian and the lacianato. Onions, carrots, garlic and potatoes are also in the mix.

This is also the time when I get a riot of flowers. The bees were feasting on my columbine this week and the irises look about ready to burst forth. The love in a mist will follow them and then I won’t have so much in the way of blossoms until the roses come out—and given the temperatures we’ve had, they may wait until June!

The bumblebees and honey bees were out.

The bumblebees and honey bees were out.

This entry was posted in Local Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

