Sharing the Wealth

This morning I called my friend Puwen and asked if she could take some of my zucchini pickles from last year.  They were a little too lemony and cumin-y to eat in a side salad or just out of the jar.  But I kept thinking they just needed appropriate pairing, like some wines.  Last winter I made a fish dish with them, but Puwen immediately thought they might be like those pucker-inducing Indian pickles and require curry.  I’m waiting to see what she thinks when she’s actually tasted them.  I have another pint to use.  On my way out, she gave me some ginger root to use in an Asian-inspired cole slaw I was planning to make.

Sweet peas are still blossoming and I took a small bouquet, mixing it with artemesia silver king.

Sweet peas are still blossoming and I took a small bouquet, mixing it with artemesia silver king.

Last night I was at my friends Carolyn and John for dinner and had a look at their garden. Carolyn’s cucumber’s, a different variety than mine (Tuscarora?? Mine are space savers), are still going strong.  Their zucchini, however, were eaten by voles.  I went away with a cucumber and dropped back by this afternoon with my bread and butter pickle recipe, a couple zucchini and some green beans, which I had the impression they were going to eat for dinner tonight!   Carolyn sent me off with some freshly dried oregano.

The garden was a bonanza of summer goodies.

The garden was a bonanza of summer goodies.

Meanwhile, back in the garden, I’ve been harvesting my neighboring gardener Alex’s tomatoes, peppers, raspberries, and zinnias, some of which have been going to AFAC.  She also has some major kale, which I plan to harvest in shifts.  In our Plot Against Hunger gardens, we have more tomatoes and some zucchini coming on–and the bush beans are bearing prolifically.  I took about 15 pounds to the farm market on Saturday for AFAC pick-up.  The drop off cooler wasn’t there, which was disappointing (I don’t have room in my fridge to keep that quantity of veggies), but one of the farmers who contributes to AFAC took the bag and said they’d make sure the AFAC van got it when they came to pick up.  Lots of giving and receiving lately!  We all need to do a little bit of barter and exchange to see if we can’t seed a little more good.

I have Alex to thank for the zinnia bouquet in my living room.

I have Alex to thank for the zinnia bouquet in my living room.

This entry was posted in Community, Local Food, Local Pleasures and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

