Oh the Late Summer Cornucopia!

I’m getting ready to go on vacation for a few days, so what a weekend!  I made tomato sauce for canning, used up the last of the cucumbers in bread and butter pickles, and made some dilly beans.  That was all before I got to the garden!  It rained most of Saturday, making it the perfect day for pickling after errands.

Tomato sauce, bread and butter pickles, dilly beans

Tomato sauce, bread and butter pickles, dilly beans

I still had to make arrangements for harvesting and weeding the Plot Against Hunger Gardens while I was away.  There are collards, chard, tomatoes, squash, and okra, not to mention beans in the garden. I asked an experienced gardener, currently without garden space, if she would like to harvest my vegetables for her own use while I was away.  There are eggplant, peppers, kale, chard, tomatoes, pole beans, okra… I harvested an eggplant and broiled thin slices of it, then marinated them in a lemon, olive oil, garlic concoction for dinner.  These are really lovely wrapped around a creamy goat cheese, and if you like meat, I bet they’d be nice wrapped around a bit of that as well.  Of course, they’re also good by themselves.

This is my favorite way to prepare eggplant.

This is my favorite way to prepare eggplant.

The rest of my harvest included squash, beans and peppers, some of which I gave away to neighbors and some kale and chard, which I handed over the garden fence to interested passersby.  I had okra and tomatoes and a red pepper at home, which I put in a pan with the remains of the eggplant slices and cooked.  Lovely, creamy texture, and a bit of balsamic vinegar at the end of cooking gave it some zip.  Had all this with some scallops wrapped in bacon in preparation for some time in Maine–in search of a good lobster roll.

You know you'll love okra if you just try it!

You know you’ll love okra if you just try it!

This entry was posted in Community, Local Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

