Everybody Needs A Break!

I was away in Maine for a week and it was so lovely and relaxing that I’m watching myself to see how I tense up and stopping it before it latches on. I want to hold onto a week of early morning kayaking, sailing, and in general messing about in boats.

Ah, wind, water, sun!

Ah, wind, water, sun!

This doesn’t mean I didn’t keep gardening in my head. My niece and I went to Maine Coastal Gardens, which were magical.

Look at that sheet of water!

Look at that sheet of water!

And the lighthouse on Burnt Island, which was across the bay from the Spruce Point Inn where we stayed, tantalized us. We went there twice, once on the Inn launch, the Bright Line, and once in kayaks. There was a garden there, with squash and cucumbers still coming on in spite of it being like fall, even according to the locals.

Check out the little zuke hiding upper right center...

Check out the little zuke hiding upper right center…

The beauty of the place was a bit like a drug—one I could use more of. I came back to a garden badly in need of harvesting, and hope I saved it from going to seed too early. But lucky for me, I had the sense to go before I went grocery shopping!

I've got a few menus planned based on this take.

I’ve got a few menus planned based on this take.

This entry was posted in Other People's Gardens and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Everybody Needs A Break!

  1. Paul A. says:

    I loved seeing the sailboat photo. Reminds me of fun times on the Chesapeake Bay. Glad you had some sweet release from the daily grind. Hold tight!

    Like

Leave a Reply

