Wool Felt: And Not That Thin, Flimsy Stuff

Now that the labor of gardening is done for a while, I was thinking of doing some crafty things, possibly with felt. A couple years ago, I bought a book called Softies, which had some very cute patterns for a variety of things from creatures to paperweights. Many of them were made with felt. At the time, I had a stash of 10 x 10 inch squares of felt from my mother’s craft efforts.

Here is Merlin, from The Sword in the Stone, which dates him and the felt...

Here is Merlin, from The Sword in the Stone, which dates him and the felt…

I used them up. When I wanted more, I went to craft stores and was not impressed by the quality of the felt squares, which you could see through without even holding them up to the light. The felt I had been working with, admittedly from the 1960’s, was about a 16th of an inch thick–more than a millimeter.

Here is the wolf, also from The Sword in the Stone.  There was an Owl, as well, but I do not have that particular puppet...

Here is the wolf, also from The Sword in the Stone. There was an Owl, as well, but I do not have that particular puppet…

I’m thinking of trying again and want to ask anyone with crafty connections where to find quality felt. I’m throwing this out to the universe. Who crafts with felt and where do you get your stuff?

And here is Willie, from a children's book, Which is Willie?  I think he had an identity crisis.  In any event, I was extremely pleased to see him in Christmas morning...

And here is Willy, from a children’s book, Which is Willy? I think he had an identity crisis. In any event, I was extremely pleased to see him on Christmas morning…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wool Felt: And Not That Thin, Flimsy Stuff

  1. I agree with you about the quality of modern felt [tuts and shakes head sadly] but unfortunately can offer no helpful advice as I don’t live in your country. Except to say, if you get no joy and are determined, you might make your own. Purchase woolen garments from the thrift store. Wash in extremely hot water and cut up as required 🙂 I did say you would need to be determined. I hope someone local can help you. I love your characters from ‘Sword In the Stone’ which remains in my memory as one of my favourite books from decades ago!

    Like

    • arlingwoman says:

      Thanks! I’ve now heard about Prairie Woolens in Iowa, which is a relief, because the others were in Europe and UK, which would entail higher shipping and possibly customs. There’s a local Mongolian community, who make their own felt and sell purses and slippers, but not the felt. I’d run out of any possibilities in driving distance! But you’ve given me something to think about in making it. I think the giant sweet corn in my Sewing Giant Vegetables piece was made from shrunken wool blankets…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. KerryCan says:

    I seem to remember buying this 20% wool felt at Joann Fabrics and liking it–it’s sold on a bolt and is heavier and nicer than those little polyester felt squares.

    Like

    • arlingwoman says:

      Thanks! There is a Joann’s not too far from me so I could check that out. I’ve also found a place called Prairie Woolens in Iowa that sells the thick wool squares (and apparently makes them and dyes them in-house). This is great! My plea is already having results!

      Like

Leave a Reply

