The Felt Report: Having Your Cake

A few weeks ago, I asked about felt and showed pictures of some of the things my mother had made for us when we were small. In my searches for good felt, I found Prairie Woolens. What luck. They are located in Iowa, but have a web site that shows their products well. In addition to felt, they offer other hand dyed fabrics, but I got a selection of 9 x12 inch felt pieces.

Prairie woolens has a nice selection of colors and the thickness is just what I wanted.

Prairie woolens has a nice selection of colors and the thickness is just what I wanted.

I admired them for a few days and then decided to make a cake. A friend is having a birthday in February, and I decided that it would be nice if he could have his cake and eat it too. Since his wife told me the birthday cake would be German chocolate, I did the best approximation I could. Not sure if the whipped cream is correct, but a dollop never hurt any cake I’ve ever had…

This was so much fun to make.  I'm looking forward to the next project.

This was so much fun to make. I’m looking forward to the next project.

This entry was posted in Community and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Felt Report: Having Your Cake

  1. At first glance I thought that was a real chocolate cupcake – and then I realised the cream wouldn’t sit that perfectly – well, mine wouldn’t any way – and then I saw the stitching …… I’m slow, but I’m thorough πŸ™‚ This is quite wonderful! I can see you having many joyful hours creating with all those gorgeous colours …… what next I wonder?

    Like

  2. KerryCan says:

    Oh, good–you found what you needed! The cupcake is very cute. Now I want to see what you do with those bright colors!

    Like

  3. arlingwoman says:

    Yes, there’s a real sense of possibilities when I look at them.

    Like

  4. pauljoeRTW says:

    I like that you’re making felt replicas of high carb treats like cake. i suggest you next try an equally popular high fat foods like, say, a colorful hotdog or hamburger and bun? Much better to admire them in felt than to eat them! πŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

