Garden Planning on Coldest Weekend of Winter!

Garden business seriously begins to occupy me in February because often I can start planting at the end of the month. These are what I call the “early crops” and include lettuces, radishes, peas and carrots. Some years, that also includes spinach.

My first crop this spring.

My first crop this spring.

Because we have such a long growing season in Virginia, I plan for early crops and summer crops. I usually don’t plan for fall crops because they are limited to garlic (planted in late August and harvested the next June), any remaining salad green seeds, and root crops if I don’t feel like a rest from growing.

Some of the seeds I've got...

Some of the seeds I’ve got…

Currently I’m working three plots. There’s my own, which is 10 feet by 30, and two plots I work with volunteers for the Plot Against Hunger. These are a small plot inside the community garden fence and a larger, triangular plot outside the fence bordered by the sidewalk and street.

The large plot in spring last year.

The large plot in spring last year.

My garden hitting its stride.

My garden hitting its stride.

The small plot being tidied by Kim after planting last spring.

The small plot being tidied by Kim after planting last spring.

While I try to draw maps of the gardens for planning, I do it because there are existing plants and structures in all three plots. For general purposes in a clean garden, Territorial Seed’s garden planner is incredibly useful, especially if you have any tendencies to overplant. As you drop the rows in, whatever plant you’ve designated immediately expands to its full-grown size, thereby showing you just how small your garden is. Because I tinker with the plan and also forget certain plants, I like to draw the gardens. This gives me an idea of how many seeds I need and how much room I have. I can also make changes in the garden without going online. In a few weeks, I’ll be planting my early crops:

The plan for my early crops so far, with a little space for changes of mind.

The plan for my early crops so far, with a little space for changes of mind.

For the small Plot Against Hunger garden, I’ve got big plans as well.

Here you can see both spring and summer plans.

Here you can see both spring and summer plans.

For the large, outside garden, spring plantings will be mostly root crops and lettuces.

In AFAC Plot Against Hunger parlance, i could be "going for weight."

In AFAC Plot Against Hunger parlance, I could be “going for weight.”

I’ve planned the summer plantings as well. For my own garden, they may be a bit over-ambitious, but I’ll make adjustments as I plant.

I may add and delete.  Those Blue Hubbards get quite large...

I may add and delete. Those Blue Hubbards get quite large…

For the large outside garden, my plan was to make it low maintenance and difficult to pilfer. This garden needs a lot of watering because of the heat from the sidewalk and the street.

Lots of squash...

Lots of squash…

Now all I need are a string of days in the upper fifties and a few willing volunteers for the Plot Against Hunger!

We forked, we hoed, we separated soil from roots!

We forked, we hoed, we separated soil from roots!

This entry was posted in Community, Local Food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Garden Planning on Coldest Weekend of Winter!

  1. You are SO organised! I am seriously impressed! [I’m sure I’ve said this to you before] I love that you also work in a community garden and grow food for others too. [Pretty sure I’ve said that before too!] I can see I shall learn quite a bit following along behind you as your growing season commences. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

