Crafts: the Felt Update

Another weekend, another winter storm. While I’ve been doing a lot of cooking, I’ve also managed to make a few more things of felt. One of my favorites is Lucky Dog. He’s gone to a new family where one of his companions is a toddler named Calder.

What a lucky dog!

What a lucky dog!

I’ve given away almost everything–a little tropical bird, a cake, a paperweight cross, a crowned tooth, and a tiny white dog have all made their way to new homes. Then I was struck by the practical applications of my felt work.

The pincushion is seeing a great deal of use.

The pincushion is seeing a great deal of use.

A week or so ago, I was looking at some table runners and it occurred to me that I could make one for myself using leftover fabric from a couch slipcover and my felt, cut into circles for a penny rug sort of pattern. I cut them, laid them out on the fabric and began to think about the design.

The row of circles on top is the way I decided how to match colors for the smaller circles sewn on next.

The row of circles on top is the way I decided how to match colors for the smaller circles sewn on next.

Ultimately I sewed all the circles, as well as some little plant designs and laid them out again. I decided that the runner would be too wide, so separated out a row on each side. This will allow me to self back the runner, once I sew all these “coins” on.

Here they are on the backing.

Here they are on the backing.

It also left me with extras and I decided I could make placemats or hot pads of them.

I liked the look of these so much I considered making a bag of them, but figured they'd get more use as hot pads...

I liked the look of these so much I considered making a bag of them, but figured they’d get more use as hot pads…

I also sewed up this one yesterday during the storm. I’m very pleased with its cheerfulness. With a few strings or ribbons, it could go on a nursery wall as balloons. But I’m using it at the table.

Up up and away!

Up up and away!

This entry was posted in Crafts, Local Pleasures and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Crafts: the Felt Update

  1. I think you could add the strings and have balloons on the table! The runner is bright and cheerful – and an excellent idea for hot pads! What a lovely activity for a cold day!

    Like

    • arlingwoman says:

      Yes, it was nice just to stay home and do some projects. I wasn’t sure about the backing for the runner once I laid it out, but I can think on that, since I’ll sew up the hot pads first. I do like the balloons. They’re already in use!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. KerryCan says:

    I’ve always loved the look of these penny rug “coins”! Most of the ones I’ve seen are in deeper, more wintery colors but I really like what you’re doing with the happy colors! A good antidote to all this winter!

    Like

    • arlingwoman says:

      I’m glad you like them. I have a lot of color in my house, really the blues are the only thing I don’t have (except on the backs of books). They seem really cheerful to me, but someone else might think they were gaudy!

      Like

  3. Cecilia says:

    I am always impressed how many details go into a piece of art, and then I look at it and it looks so light and easy. I think that is the core of art. Congratulations.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hannah says:

    These look fantastic! And they must be pinned…

    Like

Leave a Reply

