The Spring Crops Are In!

I got back into the garden today. As with yesterday, my fellow gardeners were also out. Alex and her children were planting cabbages and broccoli and she offered me some plants, which I took for the large Plot Against Hunger garden.

Alex raises bees in her back yard and did a lot of harvesting for the Plot gardens last year.

Alex raises bees in her back yard and did a lot of harvesting for the Plot gardens last year.

In my own garden, I just needed to make rows, fill out row stakes and plant the seeds. It took about an hour and I was very pleased with it. It’s spring crops for now–peas, beets, carrots, two kinds of radishes, arugula, lettuces, spinach, parsley, kale, spring onions, chard and wintered over garlic. As these crops come out, I’ll be putting in the summer crops–squashes, okra, pole beans, cucumbers–and keeping some things, like the chard and the kale.

Success!  Can't wait for things to start sprouting!

Success! Can’t wait for things to start sprouting!

Jane arrived and we moved to the large outside plot. She had an idea that it would be easier for volunteers to 1) see seedlings and 2) know what to weed if we strung the rows with white string. Not a bad idea.

I planted and Jane added the string.

I planted and Jane added the string.

Jane planted the cabbages from Alex and we harvested some turnips from the fall. Then we planted peas along the fence, put in seeds for a wildflower border along the sidewalk, and cut the rows in. We planted seeds for romaine and other lettuces, lots of carrots, some more turnips, beets, and cauliflower.

When you have the right help, you can plant a very organized garden in a short time.  Jane's string almost made me feel like Mr. McGregor.

When you have the right help, you can plant a very organized garden in a short time. Jane’s string almost made me feel like Mr. McGregor.

As you can tell from the pictures, this is definitely urban gardening! Look at those rows of future food. More to come!

Love those orange stakes!

Love those orange stakes!

This entry was posted in Community, Local Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Spring Crops Are In!

  1. I am so impressed that you can make a garden like this in such an open urban surrounding. Can the general public/passers-by get at it? Do they respect it? I would like to know more!

    Like

    • arlingwoman says:

      We get a certain amount of theft, but I avoid planting things that are too easy to steal or favorites like tomatoes and peppers. Lots of people stop to ask questions.

      Liked by 1 person

      • But no vandalism? I am so impressed! I hope if people help themselves, they need to. I have always wanted to plant a ‘help yourself’ garden but never had the right place to do it.

        Like

      • arlingwoman says:

        Some years are worse than others with vandalism. Mostly people throw trash in the garden or steal stuff. Since these are usually clearly designated AFAC Plot Against Hunger, I think that helps. I think a help yourself garden sounds neat–maybe in a median strip!

        Like

  2. Eliza Waters says:

    Love everything about this post! Breaking ground is a wonderful thing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

