Seeds are Sprouting!

Dinner is in the oven and the veggies are ready to steam, so I have some time to tell you about the garden. Puwen Lee dropped by last week and planted a Plot Against Hunger sign, since I had emailed her that I needed one. The old one must have blown away, or been carried off for mysterious reasons.

Here we are, plotting against hunger!

Here we are, plotting against hunger!

I wanted to see the sign and had a little time to check on the gardens. There were a few weeds. In the large, outside garden, the sedge grass has not given up. However, I’ve got some new volunteers in my back pocket, and some returning volunteers who are willing to engage in a fight with it. Some seeds are still snug in their rows. Others are coming up. One row of carrots in the large garden is sprouting. Mostly it’s lettuces and spinach coming up.

Spinach looks like little grasses when it comes up.

Spinach looks like little grasses when it comes up.

In my own garden, the radishes have sprouted, along with the lettuces and arugula.

Lettuces have a rounder shape when they come up.

Lettuces have a rounder shape when they come up.

And the garlic, which has hung out all winter, is really coming into its own.

Vampires will never bother me.  There are always garlic bulbs in my kitchen.

Vampires will never bother me. There are always garlic bulbs in my kitchen.

For the seeds that haven’t sprouted yet, I’ll be back next weekend. Happy Easter and happy spring!

Not sure what these are--look like miniature daffodils planted along the fence line.

Not sure what these are–look like miniature daffodils planted along the fence line.

This entry was posted in Community, Local Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Seeds are Sprouting!

  1. Eliza Waters says:

    I love seeing little sprouts – excitement and hope!

    Like

  2. KerryCan says:

    I like seeing the sprouts! Especially since we had measurable snow over the weekend and are at least a few weeks behind you!

    Like

  3. pauljoeRTW says:

    Your photo of the spinach is beautiful. It looks like you used some photo editor to only color the bright green sprouts and carmel brown leaf. Beautiful. It shows what I love most about spring: seeing the fresh new glimpses green overtaking the last browns and grays of winter.

    Like

  4. Boomdeeadda says:

    That’s such a good thing to do Lisa. I noticed, last summer when we bought our house, we have a community garden plot around the corner. I didn’t get a chance to investigate but I may be able to garden there this year. I’d plant mostly cutting flowers since I love making little bouquets to bring in the house.

    Like

Leave a Reply

