Another Day in Paradise

Yesterday was one of those days when very little goes right, to the extent I got a parking ticket for an expired permit that clearly wasn’t expired. The permit states it expires June 30, 2015. Go figure. Someone broke off the garden stakes identifying the flower border on the outside Plot Against Hunger garden. The dealership that services my car neglected to do the emissions test with the safety inspection, so I had to get that done at an inspection station. Fortunately, the haircut went well, but then I came home and burned my lunch!

I have no idea what this plant is.  But if that were a locust blossom, it would have gone into a creamy pasta sauce...

I have no idea what this plant is. But if that were a locust blossom, it would have gone into a creamy pasta sauce…

After that I decided maybe I should stay close to home and not drive anywhere, so I focused on cleaning and laundry. But as I went about the chores, I kept noticing how beautiful the courtyard is.

Every year I love the way the redbud and the dogwood look together.

Every year I love the way the redbud and the dogwood look together.

Dogwoods are in full bloom.

This one is right outside my door.

This one is right outside my door.

The lily of the valley I planted a number of years ago have spread nicely under the Chinese elm.

These carry a scent familiar from bath soap...

These carry a scent familiar from bath soap…

We’re still enjoying the last of the Kwanzan cherry bloom.

Once leaves have come in, it's largely over...

Once leaves have come in, it’s largely over…

The fothergilla are looking like happy puppies.

DSCN3321

And who can resist a view through a pink dogwood?

DSCN3322

This entry was posted in Community, Local Pleasures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Another Day in Paradise

  1. Eliza Waters says:

    Glorious dogwood! I really have to buy one of these to plant in my yard. Sorry about your tough day, but it seems you redeemed your afternoon bathing in dogwood beauty! 🙂 That first photo is a lily-of-the-valley bush (Pieris japonica). It is highly toxic, so please don’t eat it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • arlingwoman says:

      Ah, that’s so good to know! Thanks! I think I had heard them called Japonica, but I knew not what they were. Yes, the dogwoods are so lovely. These are natives in the courtyard, but people have started planting one called Kousa that is disease resistant. It has a lovely blossom, but a different form. Yes, you should get one or two. The pinks are lovely.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You live in a gorgeous spot – I am green with envy! Difficult days pass, but gorgeous spots are a balm to the soul day after day!

    Like

    • arlingwoman says:

      That’s certainly true, Pauline! The courtyard was a balm and helped me get over my little snit…eventually. There will be much more of this. Our azaleas are showing color in the buds, so they’ll burst out soon. Ah…and I had lettuce and some cutting celery from the garden!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Joanne Hutton says:

    The mystery shrub is Pieris japonica, and it’s poisonous, so best not to cook with it!

    Like

    • arlingwoman says:

      I never eat anything if I can’t identify it. 😉 But thanks. I was hoping someone would identify it for me and my first commenter did–and now the confirmation is in! Including the poisonous bit. Well, it looks good anyway.

      Like

  4. Beautiful photos. Glad you didn’t eat the pieris

    Like

    • arlingwoman says:

      I’m pretty careful about my foraging! I only mentioned the pasta sauce because it reminded me of locust blossoms, which should be coming soon–and which taste a bit like fresh peas. So glad I got an ID on the plant, though!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. pamsyarns says:

    Beautiful photos, everything looks gorgeous. The sun is shining in my part of the UK (early morning) but we are forecast a return to colder weather and rain this week. 😟 The allotment needs some rain but I want some warmth!

    Like

  6. Some days, I think, you are just meant to pause and forget the modern world – and what better way than to enjoy the beauty of your plants? Here in the UK we are in the midst of blossom season too… this is my favourite time of year!

    Like

  7. Dear Lisa, that is the way to handle a day full of drip, drip, drip…just look at all this glorious bblooming Mother Nature has to offer! Good for you and thank goodness the haircut went well…
    I left a message on my blog too: I do sell work but so far not on the internet…could you mail me at colorpencil.2014@gmail.com ? ( I cannot find your email address..)and I am sure we can work it out. Thank you for showing an interest, xo Johanna

    Like

  8. KerryCan says:

    I’ve had days like that! You did the right thing to stay home and do soothing chores–you could feel productive without taking any chances! And so smart, too, to turn your attention to the beauty around you . . .

    Like

  9. Those days are the worst. I’m glad you were able to focus on and enjoy the natural beauty around you. What’s frustrating is having so many problems do deal with when none of them were of your own doing, but created by the carelessness of others. I’m glad the haircut went well. I love getting my hair cut or trimmed. It’s relaxing and pampering and practical, all at the same time. Hurray for haircuts.

    Like

  10. reocochran says:

    I like blooming dogwoods, redbuds, cherry and other fruit trees. Your yard is gorgeous, helped to make you feel better, calming your nerves, while your day sounded horrible. Too bad each part of it seemed rather accidental, nothing to help fix a burned meal but maybe you can argue about the date on that permit! This helped brighten my evening while sitting after a long day at work in the library.

    Like

Leave a Reply

