Harvesting Spring Crops, Planting for Summer

Last week, Alex (March 22 post–The Spring Crops Are In!) harvested two pounds of lettuce from the Plot Against Hunger gardens and delivered them to AFAC. It was our second lettuce delivery. The first was last week and included spinach and some heads of romaine.

Two bags full.  Okay, so it doesn't weigh much...

Two bags full. Okay, so it doesn’t weigh much…

Yesterday, Jane, Sarah and I got into the large Plot garden early to weed (mostly the persistent sedge nut grass). Sarah had seen it coming back during the week and was in place weeding away when Jane and I got there. It’s amazing how fast three people can weed one garden.

Champion weeders and gardeners, Sarah (l) and Jane (r).

Champion weeders and gardeners, Sarah (l) and Jane (r).

We planted cucumbers, watermelon, and several kinds of summer and winter squashes in between the rows of spring crops. Timing is all.

Three hills of squash staked out between existing crops.

Three hills of squash staked out between existing crops.

My own garden is blossoming crazily in that lush, spring garden way it has. Yes, I cut blossoms to take home.

Aaahh....

Aaahh….

And I was lucky enough to be in the garden yet when Marcel arrived and told me I should cut some of his peonies before I left. O. M. G. Did I? Of course I did!

I can see why these are a favorite of painters.

I can see why these are a favorite of painters.

And I'd never seen anything like this one.

And I’d never seen anything like this one.

Then I went straight home and washed the radishes, arugula, spinach and kale I harvested.

I admit to eating quite a bit of salad while washing...

I admit to eating quite a bit of salad while washing…

Later today, or maybe tomorrow evening, I’ll go back and plant squashes, cucumbers, okra, and maybe some basil seeds…which I need to pick up from the hardware store. How could I not have basil seeds???

The other bonus?  Poppies are starting to blossom!

The other bonus? Poppies are starting to blossom!

This entry was posted in Community, Local Food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Harvesting Spring Crops, Planting for Summer

  1. Jean-Marcel says:

    Lovely gardens and great work for others. Looking forward to pictures of the Summer garden.

    Like

  2. Beautiful flowers and produce. And my, those peonies. And I like the community project and envy the ability to kneel and squat 🙂

    Like

  3. Your gardens are simply amazing–and what you’re doing with them is truly heart-warming. It’s clear you’re all investing a lot of time and energy with your talents and that sweat investment is paying off in spades.
    That deep pink peony is stunning, and someday I hope to be buried in a field of poppies. Judy Garland style would totally work for me.
    Congrats on the bounty of beauties!

    Like

  4. Eliza Waters says:

    Wow, things are really popping in the gardens. Love the peonies and poppies – ooh-la-la! 🙂

    Like

  5. pamsyarns says:

    My, you’ve been busy. Love the peonies!

    Like

  6. pamsyarns says:

    Just wondering, what is AFAC?

    Like

    • arlingwoman says:

      I knew I should put links in! It stands for Arlington Food Assistance Center and it provides supplemental groceries for people in need of help. Plot Against Hunger is a task force of AFAC that uses garden education at schools, libraries, churches and community gardens to get fresh vegetable donations. Lesson: always put the link in! Thanks for asking. http://www.afac.org

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Your garden is looking fabulous Lisa! Peonies are my favourite flower of all time – they beat out roses, daisies and even jasmine for me. I love how they bud, slowly ripen to open and bloom, fade and fall in a beautiful, slow motion metaphor for any life.

    It is wonderful how the AFAC garden is contributing already and your own personal bounty looks pretty good too. I’m so glad to have that feeling I know your kitchen, I can really see those vegetables there!

    Like

    • arlingwoman says:

      I’ll be sure to take photos of the new kitchen if I ever get myself off the dime and moving on that issue. But peonies, I associate them with my childhood, and Marcel said they’re very popular in France, so remind him of his childhood as well, I imagine…

      Like

  8. KerryCan says:

    Such abundance! The Plot Against Hunger sound like a great, sensible way for individuals to make a difference–and all while doing something you love! I live in the country but I think it’s so neat when cities make garden space available to people who don’t have room at home–gardening fulfills some basic need!

    Like

    • arlingwoman says:

      Thanks, Kerry. I certainly love gardening. I’m always surprised when I talk with someone from a neighboring municipality and hear they don’t have community gardens. Since I’m not living in the country with a yard, I’m awfully glad to have one!

      Like

  9. What a great project, garden against hunger! And what a delicious abundance…nothing tatstes as good as produce fresh from the garden!!! the flowers are gorgeous!

    Like

  10. I’m one of those crazy gardeners that enjoy weeding. I hope you also had fun restoring order. Around here it’s oxalis and spotted surge. They are stubborn and recurring, but I never let them best me.

    Those peonies are gorgeous and so is the salad you brought home. Thanks for contributing with your plot against hunger. I wish everyone could do just a little. What a difference it would make.

    Your garden looks fantastic. What a wonderful time of year.

    Like

  11. Robin says:

    Oh gosh, those lettuces look so good! Your garden is so beautiful. I’ve never seen a peony like that, either. It’s lovely.
    Weeding is one of the main reasons I am such a lousy gardener. I don’t really like doing it, although it’s a bit like ironing. I don’t like it, but once I’m doing it, I find I get into a rhythm that’s meditative and I always feel good when I finish. The other problem is that sometimes the weeds are so pretty I can’t bare to pull them. That happened to me the first time I planted a vegetable garden. All sorts of flowers popped up, including black-eyed susans, a variety of daisies, purple coneflowers, and others that I never identified. I think someone must have had a flower garden there before we bought the place, and I’d gone and planted my veggies right in the midst of all those beautiful flowers. I eventually worked it out, letting the flowers grow with the vegetables, and appointing my husband as the puller of any flowers that needed to go since he’s much more ruthless than I am when it comes to weeding. Well, maybe not. He replanted a lot of them elsewhere. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

