Carrots Galore!

Well, last week I ended with “and we haven’t even harvested the carrots yet.” This week, Sarah, Jane and I gathered in the early morning to weed, then figured we could harvest as well. I took most of the rest of the beets and then we started pulling carrots. Boy did we have carrots. And did I mention the cabbages? The rabbits had been snacking on a number of them, but several were also perfect Beatrix Potter cabbages. My camera chose not to work this morning, but fellow gardener Lora snapped some cell phone shots.

This is only part of the haul!  We had bagged quite a few already.

This is only part of the haul! We had bagged quite a few already.

I think we may have had about forty pounds today. Jane and I loaded it into her car while Sarah worked away weeding the small garden. For my sins, I am including a picture of me with the carrots. If that hair were Superman, it would be just about the time he bursts from his shirt in the phone booth.

I did have a hair cut shortly after this.  It is now all sleek and well-behaved...

I did have a hair cut shortly after this. It is now all sleek and well-behaved…

Jane dropped some of the harvest at the cooler AFAC leaves for donations at the farm market. The rest she took home for delivery on Monday. We have lots more carrots and a few more beets and turnips to harvest, so you may be seeing those in the coming weeks.

Carrots Jane has packed into a cooler...

Carrots and beets Jane has packed into a cooler…

This entry was posted in Community, Local Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Carrots Galore!

  1. What a bounty of carrots and wild hair Lisa! I love that photo of you! Obviously gardening and summer time agree with you very well. xo

    Like

  2. That hair looks as joyous as you are! It is a lovely photo of you! hmmm, carrots. Cannot have enough of those, such a versatile and healthy vegetable! Summer is clearly your time to shine, xo Johanna

    Like

  3. I suppose hare likes carrots as much as a rabbit.

    Like

  4. Robin says:

    I love your wild hair. It’s as exuberant as your expression. The freshly harvested vegetables look delicious. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Boomdeeadda says:

    LOL, Get that hair an agent! Is there a bare chested man running around Washington while you wear his shirt Lisa? Any other news other than carrots you want to share? Snicker. I often wear Jim’s discarded dress shirts in the yard too. Keeps the sun off.
    Bugs Bunny would be your new best friend with a haul like that. Plus I don’t see an odd shaped one in the lot. I didn’t know to thin them and grew three pronged mutant carrots in my garden adventure. Happy Carrot Day (not a real holiday but it should be) xK

    Liked by 1 person

    • arlingwoman says:

      Ah, Boomdee, we did have one we termed ‘lotus carrot’ for its many petals. That shirt and another one are so tightly woven they’re practically SPF 50, and as the cuffs are now permanently dirt stained, they simply can’t be given back to their owner, who has more clothes than I do. I love the idea of my hair having an agent! But it’s quite tamed for the moment. Of course no one is taking a picture of me NOW. BTW, I found seeds for frilly poppies and they’re supposed to be good to zone 3. I bet they’d work for Alys, too…

      Liked by 2 people

      • Boomdeeadda says:

        Hey you! I guess you’ve been over to Derricks too. LOL…we’re globe hoping tonight. Derrick emailed to say they found seeds too. Did you find seeds on a US link? Aren’t they spectacular? Maybe we should have ‘A Great Frilly Grown Down 2016’ (-vs- showdown). We could all get the same seeds and see who’s do the most spectacular……it’d have to be next year since it’s already end of June and we really only have two more months to garden here. Hey?! That might be fun 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • arlingwoman says:

        I’m in!! I found three good sources–one Canadian, two US. I think one I bookmarked because it had loads of different varieties. They’re just gorgeous. I’ll email my sources…

        Liked by 1 person

      • Boomdeeadda says:

        Right on….a little friendly garden off….hehe. I’ll check for you email. BB later 😀

        Like

  6. KerryCan says:

    Happy hair! It’s funny–when I feel best and most at peace with the world, my hair tends to look its craziest, too! What a harvest you’re getting! I like seeing real carrots–we’re so overwhelmed with those strange little “baby” carrots these days . . .

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Well, there will be no carrots for me this summer–at least from my garden. I had the bright idea to save a drowning bunny from my pool and I do believe he had such a scare from his brush with death that he decided to have his way with whatever honey bunnies he could persuade. And now there is such a prolific population of baby bunnies I swear I have caught them piling on top of one another in order to get themselves up over my garden walls. Gone is the lettuce, the arugula, the carrots and the strawberries. Which I suppose is fine because a large herd of deer made off with my entire crop of blueberries three weeks ago. I am now just weeding to make it easier for the wildlife to spot my tomatoes.
    Happy to hear your garden grows without woes, Lisa. It looks absolutely stupendous!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Shelley, only you could make a nearly drowned bunny and the decimation of your garden sound funny. I wondered if those raised beds of yours kept critters at bay, but it sounds as though they’ve sorted it out. Sigh.

      Liked by 1 person

      • arlingwoman says:

        Goodness, Shelley, I realized I hadn’t got my comment back to you in the ‘reply’ section, so here it is: I’m sorry about your garden. I’m just fighting voles and rabbits. I’ve become quite Darwinian about the rabbits, hoping foxes eat them, even though nice juicy rats are available. Deer, however, can eat whole bushes, as you’ve seen. I didn’t get any lettuce, either, but the rabbits didn’t care for my arugula! Most places in the Plot Against Hunger garden are too exposed for them to nibble too much, though they went after the cabbages. With tomatoes, it’s the squirrels and birds–you can always get bird netting, but…the thing about gardens is there’s always another year!

        Liked by 1 person

  8. arlingwoman says:

    I’m sorry about your garden. I’m just fighting voles and rabbits. I’ve become quite Darwinian about the rabbits, hoping foxes eat them, even though nice juicy rats are available. Deer, however, can eat whole bushes, as you’ve seen. I didn’t get any lettuce, either, but the rabbits didn’t care for my arugula! Most places in the Plot Against Hunger garden are too exposed for them to nibble too much, though they went after the cabbages. With tomatoes, it’s the squirrels and birds–you can always get bird netting, but…the thing about gardens is there’s always another year!

    Like

  9. You’ve had such a wonderful bounty, Lisa. Those carrots are gorgeous and so are you. I like your wind swept hair and your smile. It says you’re having fun doing something you love. I’ve only grown winter carrots, not summer, and this year I’m trying not to grow at all due to water rationing. That said, some tomatoes are fighting the good fight and I have a pumpkin plant too. Crazy! …and fun.

    Like

    • arlingwoman says:

      Thanks Alys. I’m hoping that your tomatoes will be wonderfully concentrated and tasty. The pumpkin, though, those things need lots of water. I hope you have some luck with it.

      Like

      • I grew pumpkins for a decade, starting when my son was three and really into it. Then in the past two years I had a nasty squash bug infestation. They destroyed most of the crop. Even before we entered year four of the drought, I decided to take a year off, hoping the bugs would leave after a season without a breeding ground. The ‘volunteer’ pumpkin wilts at the end of the day, then seems to revive the following morning. I’ll keep you posted.

        Like

      • arlingwoman says:

        Ugh, those squash bugs. I hope you get some pumpkins from the volunteer!

        Like

      • They are so gross! My son tells me it’s not a pumpkin, but something else. Time will tell. It looks like a pumpkin to me, though.

        Like

  10. LB says:

    That photo of you is wonderful, Lisa!
    Natural, beautiful, smiling, hair less than perfect.
    And what a garden bounty, and one that you share with those less fortunate.
    Lovely!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

