So Much for Planning

I had arranged to meet Jane in the garden Saturday morning, but as we all know plans go awry. For me, this was in the form of my car not starting. Now, I could have simply walked to the garden, but I started trouble shooting. Nothing worked.

Being loaded into the ambulance...

Being loaded into the ambulance…

Last weekend, I had discovered an eczematous patch on the passenger side fender that my cousin Vicki’s husband Denny said was the clear coat going. I was figuring on sending it to the shop for a spa treatment.

This was the best towing experience I've had.  Driver was really nice and came when scheduled!

This was the best towing experience I’ve had. Driver was really nice and came when scheduled!

Instead, I was calling the ambulance, in the form of a tow truck and the emergency room in the form of the car dealer.

Feel better soon!!

Feel better soon!!

Meanwhile Jane labored diligently alone and harvested 8 cucumbers I had missed when I was in the garden earlier in the week. If you recall, I said there weren’t any.

Were they hiding?  Or does Jane have better eyes for a cucumber?

Were they hiding? Or does Jane have better eyes for a cucumber?

I did get to the garden today and there was nothing to do in the Plot Against Hunger gardens, thanks to Jane. I spent a couple hours cleaning up in my own garden and harvesting a few goodies, then watering all three gardens. With any luck, they’ll get a bit more this evening in the form of a thunderstorm.

Okra has come on!  Yum!

Okra has come on! Yum!

This entry was posted in Community, Local Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to So Much for Planning

  1. Eliza Waters says:

    Looks like a good dinner in the planning! Hope your car feels better soon. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • arlingwoman says:

      Goodness! I had to fish you out of spam again! I hope that by approving you, soon you’ll just come approved! My car is back, still with eczema, but also a new battery. It seems quite chipper. Hooray! Tonight at the garden I got more okra (not that Kerry would be interested).

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s my experience that cukes are pretty sneaky….you think they’re not there, and lo and behold you come back and there they are, getting bigger and fatter than you want ’em!

    Like

  3. Oh, sorry to hear about your car, Lisa. Car trouble always seems to lead to a big bill 😦

    Like

  4. Sylvie G says:

    It seems you have another good meal ahead of you (still fancy the basil) πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Alas, poor car. I knew him well …….. [Sorry Will, Lisa and anybody else!] Hopefully the dealership and all involved will invoke a speedy recovery and you won’t end up at the car graveside ……. Cucumbers and beans – they are both superb hiders, often only revealing themselves when just that little bit too mature. Thank heavens for Jane’s keen eyes!

    Like

    • arlingwoman says:

      Well, I’ll find out something today, probably. Ah well. Yesterday it was the beans I was worried about getting before they got too big…You’re right about them hiding, too–suddenly there’s a Jack sized bean on the vine…

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Jane should’ve taken the supermarket sticker off the cucumbers before bragging about what she had found!

    Like

  7. KerryCan says:

    Do you actually eat okra? Ick . . . Sorry–you can tell I’m a Yankee! I hate to hear about car trouble–my car is pretty old and I’m always dreading the next issue but I dread buying a new car more!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Bummer about the car, Lisa. I hope the bounty from the garden will make up for the extra pennies spent at the garage. It all looks incredibly beautiful!

    Like

  9. LB says:

    I had the same car! or at least the same make and model. I’ll hope for a good ending to this story.
    Aren’t your veggies beautiful!

    Like

  10. Robin says:

    I hope the car problems aren’t too hard to diagnose or too serious. Our cucumbers hide from us, too, and the next thing you know, we have giant cukes. Your veggies look yummy. πŸ™‚

    Like

  11. Boohoo, car trouble, no fun!! But the veggies are jummy and beautiful. With cucumbers it is as with zucchinis and pumpkins…they had until they are enormous and make you believe you need better glasses yet gain! xo Johanna

    Like

  12. Boomdeeadda says:

    Dr Dr give me the news, I got a bad case of broken car blues! Phooey Lisa, is it just me or does your car actually look sad looking back at you on that tow truck? LOL That’s down right inconvienant. Can you ride the lightrail to the garden? It seemed too far to walk. Nice veggies this week.

    Like

    • arlingwoman says:

      I must have done a good job of anthropomorphizing my little car! I’ll be picking it up tonight, still with eczema, but in possession of renewed vigor in the form of … a new battery. It’s just about a 15 minute walk to the garden, not bad really. But I will be glad to have the car back.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Bummer about the car, Lisa. I dread any and all car problems. They’re often expensive and IMO a boring place to spend your money. But, hey, you have to get around. Good thing you have decent public transportation.

    I’m happy to see your garden doing so well.

    Like

  14. So your ailing arlingmotor is better now? Not spotty any more?

    Like

  15. Robbie says:

    oh my-looks good! Are those the smaller, round French Carrots? I am trying to grow those this fall. I want some quick ones-yours look pretty good:-)

    Like

  16. Boomdeeadda says:

    And I’ve arrived again at where I last left off. Geez, I did get a wee bit behind. I’ll always find my way back though, I’ll just follow the trail of carrot tops…LOL xoK Have a happy weekend Lisa !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

