Maintenance Mode!

So much was going on today. I had a landscape walk through with the meanest rudest person I know. At 7:30 in the morning. About 45 minutes in I decided to limit my exposure, exited the group and carried about 6 pounds of zucchini, tomatoes, and (drumroll) yes, cucumbers over to AFAC’s cooler at the farmer’s market. Then I met Sarah at the garden. Jane had been so thorough last week, we knocked it all out in about 90 minutes.

The flower border still looks good, though the sunflowers are now making seeds and attracting goldfinches.

The flower border still looks good, though the sunflowers are now making seeds and attracting goldfinches.

The big garden needed some vines and old flowers ripped out as well as some minimal weeding. I’m a bit worried about the watermelon vines. They seem to be withering up, possibly from powdery mildew or some evil thing that makes them wilt.

The big garden is now full of summer and winter squash, cucumbers, a bit of watermelon and some fairly aggressive, but beautifully flowering passion flower.

The big garden is now full of summer and winter squash, cucumbers, a bit of watermelon and some fairly aggressive, but beautifully flowering passion flower.

The small garden had a forceful incursion of passion flower sprouts, which we cleaned out. I let a few of these grow in the large garden for their beautiful flowers, but they spread too prolifically for the smaller plot. There we weeded, pulled dead flower stalks, trimmed herbs, and found ourselves with a space cleared for a second planting of something. I had other appointments to get to, so left Sarah watering. Maybe some more beets could go in the new space. Or turnips, carrots, or even lettuces. We’ll see.

Sarah gives the small garden a soak.  It has peppers, tomatoes, squash and herbs at this point.

Sarah gives the small garden a soak. It has peppers, tomatoes, squash and herbs at this point.

This entry was posted in Community, Local Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Maintenance Mode!

  1. starkwe says:

    The flower border is beautiful!

    Like

  2. Walking with a mean and rude person is NEVER to be done at any time of the day Lisa – good on you for curtailing it. It sounds like it was a group walk – and if so I hope others followed your lead.
    I’m having difficulty seeing the last two photos on this post – obviously the internet connection is dicey again so I shall revisit later on.

    Like

    • arlingwoman says:

      Oh, thank you! I’ve got to the point I just decide I don’t want to expose myself to some people. Hope you can see the photos later! Thanks for coming by (from your new shop!).

      Like

      • So, eventually my internet connection sorted itself out and I could see the last two photos. Given the extremes of your heat and humidity I am amazed you are not riddled with mildew, slugs, midges, whitefly and other woes of the tropics πŸ™‚ Good team work!

        Like

  3. What I can’t understand is how anyone could not find themselves transported into a state of pure joyful amazement after the first glimpse of your gardening project. Clearly this person was terribly distracted.
    I’m guessing there are more than enough folks who make up for her unhappiness though. Passion flower sprouts? They sound like they’re a gift from the Garden of Eden, Lisa. Doesn’t surprise me to discover they’re growing in your lot. πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • arlingwoman says:

      Oh, the landscape walkthrough is at my complex, where committee members decide on drainage issues, ill plants, new plantings, which sounds fun, but…I just need to extract myself … In the garden almost everyone is nice–or just sticks to their own plot. Yes, the idea of tearing out passion flower sounds un- edenic, but like real passions, or perhaps bad temper, they need to be reined in periodically!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I hope the watermelon pulls through…that’s one of my all time favorite things of summer.
    And life’s too short to spend in the company of toxic persons, especially when there are easy alternatives…like walking away. Good on yer!

    Like

  5. KerryCan says:

    A mean person in a garden? That sounds like a mismatch for sure! I’m glad you could just walk away–smart!

    Like

  6. You’re a smart woman, Lisa. I’m glad you cleared out of there and spent time in the heart of your vegetable and flower garden instead. My pumpkins used to get moldy looking leaves around this time in the summer. I simply cut away the worst offenders and the plant carried on just fine. I hope that is true for you and your watermelon.

    I love seeing how green and lush everything is. Congratulations on your wonderful garden successes.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Robin says:

    It’s always best to get away from mean and rude energy/people. The flower border is so beautiful. πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. Good decision to up and leave when meanness and rudeness is around. Indeed better surround yourself with beautiful and good veggies! xo Johanna

    Like

  9. Robbie says:

    I agree with everyone above-mean people and gardens don’t go together! I hope this was not a gardener, for my mother always said “gardeners are the most giving people.” But I have to admit I have met a few in my life-lol- YOur garden is beautiful, too..love the pink!

    Like

    • arlingwoman says:

      There used to be someone in my community garden that I continue to claim would have been burned as a witch if she had lived in the 17th C. Power rayed off her and it could go either way, mostly the other (-; I think these people teach us something. I keep failing to learn with the one mentioned in the blog!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Robbie says:

        They are the “red flags” in our life…steer clear! Lesson learned-lol. My husband told me something many years ago that I thought was pretty darn smart-he said, “Robbie, if they act a certain way why are you surprised when they are an %#%&” he said, “just expect it- you won’t get mad”…lol:-)to be honest, he makes it look easy, I stumble!

        Like

      • arlingwoman says:

        This is very good advice to be reminded of!

        Like

  10. Boomdeeadda says:

    A mean landscaper? Why, I otta ! Thank goodness for a little garden therapy on the menu, it all looks great from here. Some folks just aren’t ‘Morning People’. I don’t get it. Waking up everyday is a great alternative to the ‘endless sleep’ that awaits us all. Carpe Diem! xk

    Liked by 1 person

    • arlingwoman says:

      This person is just plumb mean all the time. Nothing to do with morning at all. Ugh. I stepped down from the committee, trying to limit the general aggro…

      Liked by 1 person

      • Boomdeeadda says:

        Oh! Oh! I have an idea !! (Boomdee’s clasping both hands together like an evil villian). Start a *second* committee, one that she’s not invited on. Only invite the nice folks, maybe all wear the same T-shirt. It might say, “Lisa’s Awesome Morning Committee”. Have lots of fun, morning coffee parties with pastries and stuff….she will rue the day she ever got out of bed nasty. That’s what I might do πŸ˜€ xK

        Like

      • arlingwoman says:

        That is an *excellent* fantasy!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

