Baking and Canning: What’s Left of the Garden

This morning I baked pumpkin bread, with a recipe I like that uses olive oil and mostly whole wheat pastry flour. It is delicious for an afternoon break or even breakfast.

I like to throw pumpkin seeds on the top, a bit of lily gilding...

I like to throw pumpkin seeds on the top, a bit of lily gilding…

Later, I went to the garden to see what was still there. Flowers. The calendulas have come on now that it is cool.

I've had these blooming in December.

I’ve had these blooming in December.

The zinnias are still blooming, but showing a lot more flower heads whose seeds will need to be scattered.

DSCN3913

And along with the zinnias there were honey bees and bumble bees, getting what they still can.

DSCN3912

I brought home chard, kale, beet greens and parsley. Did I mention the parsley is looking so delicious, also because it’s cooled off?

That's a stealth zinnia blossom in there.

That’s a stealth zinnia blossom in there.

And then there are the green tomatoes. I had some before I went to Chicago for a few days and today I got more. Some people think they ripen, and sometimes they get red, but if picked green, they often just taste like store tomatoes, so I decided to pickle some.

The garlic came from my garden this past summer.

The garlic came from my garden this past summer.

It’s a simple recipe and really doesn’t take long, so I worked it into the afternoon, sterilizing the jars and stuffing them,

DSCN3919

giving them a 10 minute boil,

DSCN3920

and finally lifting them out to cool.

DSCN3922

For years, the idea of pickled green tomatoes seemed pretty disgusting to me, but one year in order to avoid wasting them, I made these, tried them, and became a convert. At some point, I’d like to figure out how to reduce the quantity on my grandmother’s mock mincemeat recipe, which calls for green tomatoes (a peck), some quantity of apples, and sugar, raisins and nuts in the pounds. It was delicious stuff, but since I don’t can in that quantity, it needs some calculation! Meanwhile I’ll keep watch on these, which have a chance to get bigger, if not completely mature.

DSCN3907

This entry was posted in Community, Local Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Baking and Canning: What’s Left of the Garden

  1. Your pickled tomatoes look fantastic (considerably better than most people do when they’re pickled!)

    Like

  2. starkwe says:

    Pickled tomatoes don’t sound good to me at all, but since I love standard cucumber pickles maybe I would like them. For years I thought using olive oil in sweeter breads would be awful as well, but then I tried it and I’m definitely a convert!

    Like

  3. I know pickled vegetables are really good for you, but I really struggle with the flavor of anything pickeled. To be honest, I’ve not tried the tomatoes, and I’m now wondering if they would be different than dill pickles and saurkraut, which I struggle to get down.
    Your pumpkin bread on the other hand looks quite amazing. Yum! It’s nice to see you still have life in the garden, Lisa.

    Like

    • arlingwoman says:

      I can’t tell you if you’d like them. It sounds as though you don’t like the vinegar–probably can’t eat sea salt and vinegar chips? I can say they have a sweetness I did not expect (no sugar added).

      Like

  4. At this stage in my life, I admire anyone who pickles and cans. And that pumpkin bread looks pretty good too!

    Like

  5. Sylvie G says:

    It all looks good. I never had pickled green tomatoes, or any tomatoes but would try πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Eliza Waters says:

    It’s wonderful to see your garden still blooming and producing – it’s like a balm!

    Like

  7. jennypellett says:

    Your productivity is impressive! I’ve never had pickled tomatoes, I don’t think we have them in the UK.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. You still have good produce coming through. The zinnias are impressive, as is the pickling. Well done, Lisa

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh what a post with nothing than goodness again. The bread is a work of art, and still flowers in your garden??? what a delight! I love green tomato preserves. ha, all good stuff! xo Johanna

    Like

  10. I have a small pumpkin sitting on my countertop and it’s about time to do something with it. That pumpkin bread sure looks good….what are the chances of your sharing the recipe? I especially like the idea of whole wheat flour and olive oil.

    Like

  11. What a wonderful post! so nice to meet you!

    Like

  12. KerryCan says:

    Everything is dead and brown here so your post is a tonic! And of course that bread needs pumpkin seeds on top–YUM!

    Like

  13. Pingback: 3 DAYS 3 QUOTES CHALLENGE – DAY 3 | Vincent Wambua

    • arlingwoman says:

      Oh, Vincent, I simply can’t do these any more. I’ve been playing fast and loose with awards and challenges for quite some time and have decided to turn them down. But I thank you for thinking of my blog and wish you well in your blog and your endeavors. Thanks for coming by!

      Like

  14. reocochran says:

    I love the sound of your healthy pumpkin bread. Maybe if enough people ask, you will publish it? πŸ˜‰
    I like sweet pickled cauliflower and cucumbers but haven’t tried green tomatoes. Are yours pickled dill or sweet? My son (a cook/chef) has made fried green tomatoes with crushed croutons for coating for us. πŸ™‚ Your garden still has a lot going on. I posted recently two photos with bees, one a bumblebee. I like bees!

    Like

    • reocochran says:

      The recipe was what I was meaning for the pumpkin bread. . . oops. I have made those pumpkin cream cheese rolls, you slice and serve~ looks like a pinwheel.
      My Mom used to make a fruit cake that seemed like a buttery pound cake. She also made good mincemeat for the holidays.

      Like

    • arlingwoman says:

      The green tomatoes are surprisingly sweet, but pickled with dill seeds. I will have to check out your bees!!!! If you want the recipe for the pumpkin bread, send an email to jiminy3791[at] my packs.net and I’ll send to you!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

