Seeds, Spring, Work, Hope

Things are just a little bit crazed in my life, at the same time other things are getting better. I feel I’m in the refiner’s fire. This is one reason I bought fresh flowers last weekend, the first since the final zinnias of last fall.

DSCN4164

They even smell good. Of course I stuck my nose in them!

I got back to the garden to trim roses, some of which were sprouting a few green leaves. This made me wonder about making rose cuttings and creating some new plants. I now have cuttings from the two old fashioned roses with the fragrant red blossoms at the end of my garden and the pink fairy rose that used to be in my garden and is now in the Plot Against Hunger garden.

DSCN4157

So many shoots and tiny leaves!

It was cool, but bright enough to do trimming. Lots of things are up, including the columbines–

DSCN4158

These are the hardiest of perennials in my garden.

and the love-in-a-mist. I’m looking forward to the explosion of blooms. Meanwhile, I hope to plant a few things this weekend, under the varied row covers I’ve purchased to see which works best against varmints…I hope your week is going swimmingly!

DSCN4159

And these, sweet peas aside, are the most prolific…

This entry was posted in Community, Local Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Seeds, Spring, Work, Hope

  1. Eliza Waters says:

    Oh, my, things are really starting to pop in your garden! I’m glad you treated yourself to roses, they are lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jennypellett says:

    The small shoots of new possibility, Lisa. Enjoy your garden!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The roses are a delight!

    Like

  4. Lovely, I swear I can smell those roses! πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Mary Tang says:

    So pleased to hear of your striking of the old roses, Lisa. I only have two roses as I do not have an ornamental garden but I have taken cuttings from them to share with friends. The signs of spring is ever heartening. I love the shades of new greens.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I wish you well with the cuttings

    Like

  7. BunKaryudo says:

    I don’t have a garden myself, but I guess spring is a busy time for those who do. It’ll be nice to hear how things shape up as the year progresses.

    Like

  8. KerryCan says:

    You deserve those roses you bought–I’m sorry to hear your life has been crazy but keep in mind that the refiner’s fire makes the product stronger! And being in the garden must be a balm, too!

    Like

  9. A rose is a rose is a rose….except when it’s even more than that…

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Robin says:

    The roses in your first picture are so beautiful. I love the perspective on it, too, against that backdrop of blue. I’ve been wondering if I should prune my rose bushes at this point since the leaves are out. I think I’ll just trim off any dead heads from last year and leave it at that. I can give it a good cutting back next year.

    I hope things are relaxing and slowing down for you now, although I suspect that this time of year things are more likely to speed up. That’s just like Spring, isn’t it?

    Like

    • arlingwoman says:

      Yes spring speeds up, but I seem to lose the winter lethargy to deal with it. It’s probably best not to trim the roses now; they should be trimmed after they’ve lost their leaves but after the little red spots or nodes appear, signaling where they will sprout branches and leaves. That helps you decide where to cut. You’ll have big, lush bushes this year. May they bloom profligately!

      Like

  11. I know that fire! You will be reborn like the phoenix and oh so much more You! Go with it, my thoughts are with you! We have rain this morning, the days are noticeably shorter and the landscape is changing ……. I am ready to be allowed my inward, quieter days! Those roses are so beautiful and it is lovely to see the colour they sit upon as well πŸ™‚

    Like

    • arlingwoman says:

      I think you’re right, Pauline. I can’t recall thinking this before, butI’m going with it. So glad you’re heading into some quiet, preceded of course by the visit to your older daughter. Re the roses, they’re sitting on one of my winter table covers. I like that color too, a combination of green plants and water. Lovely.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Sorry to hear that all is not well in your life and indeed flowers are a good thing to do!! I bought lots of flowers lately ;o) And today I am even happier since I have the first branches with lovely red/pink blossoms from the garden in the vase. And I have love-in-the-mist in my garden too…but I did not know it carries this wonderful poetic name. Thank you Lisa, you made my day with that alone already xoxoxo Johanna

    Like

  13. Sylvie G says:

    Beautiful roses. It looks like it’s going to be a very busy spring and sumer πŸ™‚

    Like

  14. I have love in the mist and sweat peas spreading all over the garden, too. Aren’t they wonderful?

    I’m glad you have fresh flowers at home. I hope things improve for you soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Great roses, and a lovely colour.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Boomdeeadda says:

    I saw this somewhere. You take your rose bush clipping and dip it in root starter, then stick it into a potato. Then you just bury the potato. It holds up the root and gives it something to eat as it composts. I’ll see if I can find again on Pinterest. πŸ˜€

    Like

  17. Boomdeeadda says:

    Heres’ that pinn, looks easy enough

    Like

Leave a Reply

