It’s Too Darn Hot (now hum that)

Because we’re having a weekend of 100 degree weather and high humidity, I asked the Plot Against Hunger volunteers if they would start our weekly maintenance push earlier than usual. Dani was happy to oblige, and boy were we both hot by the time we finished!

DSCN4308

zucchini hiding in the shade of leaves.

Right before I left home this morning, I found that we might have acquired another garden for the summer since someone is going to have to be out of town until the end of the season. We went to take a look at it right away. It’s got raised beds and it’s really thriving. Its paths are a bit weedy, but its tomatoes and squash contributed to AFAC this morning.

DSCN4305

Lots going on here; basil lower left, lots of squash and tomato plants.

It also has a lot of basil in it, which I’m sure AFAC clients and fellow gardeners will enjoy.

DSCN4306

Yep, enough basil for the whole garden…

Dani tied up two problematic tomato plants in the small garden and we weeded the large garden.

DSCN4303

Dani and Jane are my tomato experts. Today Dani did the necessary wrangling.

All the gardens got a nice drink of water before we were done.

DSCN4312

Dani watered while I picked our “new” garden.

My own garden needs a little weeding, but seems to be doing fairly well except for the defunct beans. Not sure what’s wrong back there–may need to test the soil. Luckily the tomatoes and quash are thriving and the eggplants are blooming.

DSCN4314

Not bad for something that looked a perfect disaster a few weeks ago…

I also have some winter squash coming on (could it be that time???). I have “acorn” squash…

DSCN4316

Funny how in this heat, they manage to look cool in pictures!

And something that I’ll need to go back to my seed packets to identify.* Ah, well, the mysteries of the garden are continuous. Stay cool if you’re in a hot place–and warm if you’re not!

DSCN4315

*The mystery squash…is a Butterbush, a variety of Butternut with smaller plants that could be grown in containers. Β I chose it because they can get large and take over the garden.

This entry was posted in Community, Local Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to It’s Too Darn Hot (now hum that)

  1. “We’re havin’ a heat wave, a tropical heat wave…” That’s the one I’m humming. The garden(s) look so very lush! That last mystery squash looks like a crookneck squash to me…the kind called summer squash and most of the time more yellow at maturity than green….

    Like

    • arlingwoman says:

      The weather map for the whole country is orange!!! Goodness. I’m pretty sure the mystery squash is a winter squash, as it’s in that row. I only planted buttercube in the yellow summer squashes, and they don’t have crooked necks. I’ll keep watching or check the seed packets…Stay cool!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Laurie Graves says:

    It’s hot in Maine, too, although not as hot as where you live. Yesterday, it was 90 degrees in the shade. Today, it is 80 degrees. This seems to be the new normal in Maine in July. On the positive side, your gardens look lush, and so do Maine gardens.

    Like

  3. I can’t remember the lyrics that come next in your hum [I hum words as my ability to carry a tune is negligible at best] but could burst forth into a rousing chorus of Cynthia’s pick πŸ™‚ Isn’t it funny how there is ‘too hot’ and ‘too cold’ and so rarely ‘just right’. My temperature is agreeable today, but the sky is dark and the ground is sodden – even Siddy was a bit wary of the mushy, muddy slush that is usually his green park! The only things that seemed really happy were the birds who have a glut of worms floated out by the torrential downpours we have been enjoying and who were singing their little hearts out gleefully. How wonderful that you have been lent another garden – raised beds are just the perfect way to go for us aging gardeners! And the basil – wow that is an amazing crop. I see pesto in your future!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Eliza Waters says:

    I’d be working at 5 am if it was that hot. I worked for an hour today at 86 and I was a puddle at the end! Could your squash be a butternut?

    Liked by 1 person

    • arlingwoman says:

      I think that’s the likeliest guess, Eliza. If I get more than one it will be my first success with them. The acorns are pretty dependable. And five am would have been a good start time, I think. Going back in a few minutes to get some flowers!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m sorry to read about the miserable heat and humidity, Lisa. I’m not a heat person, as I know we’ve discussed before. My basil flowered twice. I’ve been trying to keep the blooms at bay. It’s nice to see the rewards of your labor, and the labor of others, and good to know you’re helping feed others in need.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. The mystery squash is shaped like a butternut, but its skin seems bumpy, no? Your garden looks very healthy and productive. I’ve never tried growing acorn squash – how exciting for you. Is it your first time growing it?

    Like

  7. Wow. You do have extremes of weather. Well done in the circumstances.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Mary Tang says:

    It’s such a good thing you’re doing, Lisa. I need some of that heat; it’s freezing here – 8ΒΊC tonight. Brrr

    Like

  9. KerryCan says:

    We had storms come through yesterday and the temps last night stopped into the high 50s–it was WONDERFUL! I would find it very difficult to go and spend a lot of time gardening in the heat you’ve been having–even in the early morning you must get exhausted by it!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. For the first tims in days we are not under a heat warning….alas we are under an EXCESIVE heat warning…I do not even bother to do anything in the garden but watering. The basil this year is fabulous and so tasteful so indeed there is a silver lining. If the clouds of chagrin above my head could create rain and cooler temps…fall would have already started here;o) Your garden looks fab and thumbs up for keeping it in shipshape!! Xo Johanna

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Maria F. says:

    I like those images of the vegetables coming out. Neat!

    Like

  12. LB says:

    I love that when hearing about a garden that needed tending, you just popped right over and took care of it. Of course, it’s for a great cause, and I very much admire your work.
    Be sure to hydrate yourselves while you hydrate the gardens!

    Like

  13. Bun Karyudo says:

    Things seem to be coming on nicely. I remember your post a few weeks back that showed things in a much more chaotic state. πŸ™‚

    Like

  14. Great photos! The luscious green landscapes look like they are thriving despite the heat.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Robbie says:

    The heat is on and off so often. We have a stretch of very hot weather than a cool down and fall like weather for a day or two. it all starts over again. It is such a strange growing season here in the Midwest. Your stuff looks pretty darn good:-) I’ve been talking to other garedeners around the area- Many people are having problems with insects this year. How are your tomatoes tasting? Ours are not very tasty this year:-(
    I did not have any issues vine borer this year-first in a decade! Love the squash:-)

    Liked by 1 person

    • arlingwoman says:

      So far the tomatoes, which are slow to come on, are good. I just had to put bird netting over them so that I would get a few more. Insects have not been bad; it’s the rabbits and squirrels! I’m eating a lot of kale and basil, getting some squash finally. The beans failed for a mysterious reason and the cucumbers are coming on slowly. Glad you didn’t get the borer. It’s a problem here, which is why I plant late. But sometimes it just hops over one plant and leaves it alone.

      Like

  16. badfish says:

    great shots…love the zuchs! Gotta have shade, and leaves. gotta get your hands dirty, here….

    Like

  17. tbymallano says:

    Your garden reminds of my mama gardens. Oh how I miss her.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Boomdeeadda says:

    Oh crikey, I don’t really know how you manage that heat and humidity. Does your condo have air conditioning? Your garden sure doesn’t mind, it’s looking great! I did this boulevard project in the heat of day just because Alys was coming and I NEEDED to finish….but it was crazy..I drank galloons of water. It’s been raining nearly every night in June and July. Everything is loving it but the mosquito’s have arrived, GAH! xo K

    Like

    • arlingwoman says:

      I know what you mean. Two weekends in a row, I’ve come back from the garden and had to hang up my clothes to dry before tossing them in the laundry. I DO have central air, thank goodness, but really, I don’t mind the heat.

      Liked by 1 person

  19. Sylvie G says:

    I can smell the basil πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

