Sorry I Haven’t Written

Goodness, what a month! I jetted off to California on the first and had a great time with my former college roommate and her husband, who live at the end of the BART line in Walnut Creek. When I returned, that strange and horrific hurricane had dropped enough rain that I needed to bail out my car. Yes, bail as in a leaky boat. My internet also had completely conked out. After five hours on the phone and at least four more of troubleshooting, I am now purchasing WiFi by the week while I look for another internet provider. It’s not optimal.

dscn4547

Ah, the Golden Gate–shot from the Presidio.

Meanwhile, I had delightful guests on two consecutive weekends: my niece, who was in town working on an article on Virginia wines, and my cousin and her husband, who are generally hosting me, came up to tour the Textile Museum, Washingtoniana collection and (drum roll) Dumbarton Oaks, my favorite place in Washington (search Dumbarton Oaks on the blog and you’ll see it gets an article a year, at least).

dscn4518

At the Japanese Tea Garden, a little spike buck peers from the trees.

The California trip was really nice. I am normally in charge of transport and destinations while on vacation and this time, I wasn’t! I was retrieved from the airport in San Francisco and driven down to Half Moon Bay and a tour of beaches that included Miramar, where the observatory is. We also experienced a great deal of California traffic. In the ensuing days, we saw the Japanese Tea Garden and the Botanic Garden (do my friends know I like gardens, ya think?).

dscn4491

The Japanese Tea Garden pagoda as we approached…

Then we went to the Legion of Honor, established after the Great War. It has a large collection of Rodin Sculptures and paintings that run the spectrum from De La Tour to Whistler and more modern painters.

dscn4539

Through the arch for a LOT of Rodin’s sculptures…

There was also a Holocaust memorial. I found this very powerful, and only photographed it from the back.

dscn4540

This memorial was emotional and evocative for me.

Close by the Legion of Honor was a coast path from which you could see the Marin Headlands and San Francisco Bay. It was lovely.

dscn4549

The Marin headlands. Gorgeous, huh?

Later in the week, we went to Amador County in California gold country and visited two wineries. At Vino Noceto, we got a tour of the grapes and the winery from the owner, who let us sample the grapes and also very generously gave us some barrel tastings.

dscn4567

Noceto uses both stainless steel and oak barrels to age. I bought a pino grigio, a rosato, and their specialty, sangiovese, as well as a barbera.ย I hope to be back on line and visiting you all regularly again soon. But for now, I’m off to Orkney Springs, Virginia for a photographic workshop. Cheers!

dscn4493

Swimming toward full internet access, we hope…

This entry was posted in Community, Other People's Gardens and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Sorry I Haven’t Written

  1. Wow – I’m not surprised you haven’t been blogging. What lovely places you have visited… I’m jealous!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Laurie Graves says:

    Glad you are back! Hope your computer woes are sorted out soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jean-Marcel says:

    Fascinating as always. You do travel well, and most importantly, you are good at sharing your experiences.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Oh ho, you gad-about you!! I’m so glad to hear you are having fun and out and about – gardens, wineries, art – just lacking a good book really, but I’m guessing there was at least one you just forgot to mention it!! And a photography course – as if you need it! xo

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I’m pleased you have had a good time, despite what you have come back to. The Tea Garden shot appealed to me, and the Holocaust memorial is so evocative and lifted by the chrysanths. I hope you are back with your own internet soon

    Liked by 2 people

  6. KerryCan says:

    You’ve been busy! It all sounds wonderful . . . except the hurricane aftermath. The photos of the West Coast make me realize how many years it’s been since I’ve been out there. But then I think how long it’s been since I’ve been to the DC area as well! I need to get out more! I hope your workshop is wonderful and challenging!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Sylvie G says:

    Good to have you back ! I hope your troubles are behind you. The memorial is very moving indeed.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. The only time I’ve had to bail out a car was when it was impounded by the police for parking against a snow ban. I have, of course, bailed out a boat….but a waterlogged car? You must have been nonplussed…..
    I do like that shot of the little fishy….swimming upstream, or downstream? I guess you’ve been doing a bit of both….

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Bun Karyudo says:

    Woah, you’ve done a lot. I think my favorite of the photographs is the Japanese pagoda. It looks lovely in that setting.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Eliza Waters says:

    I wondered where you went. ๐Ÿ™‚ Sounds like the CA trip was wonderful. I do love that area. Hope your internet woes clear up quickly!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. jennypellett says:

    What a treat to have everything planned out for you for a change. And what a trip. The scenery looks fabulous. I am particularly taken with that holocaust memorial- war related memorials are a particular interest.
    And I take your veiled point about Rodin – you can have too much all at once!

    Liked by 2 people

  12. Great post, great travel review and great photos. I hope your car and internet troubles are soon fixed and wish you lots of fun on your work shop!!! Happy to see you back, xo Johanna

    Liked by 2 people

  13. Brenda says:

    It looks as if you had a sweet sampling of California’s pleasures (with some nightmare traffic thrown in). What a rude shock to find a flooded car and internet-less house when you got back. Enough to make you want to turn around and head west again. But then you would have missed the photography workshop. Enjoy it!

    Liked by 2 people

  14. Maria F. says:

    Nice images. I went to S.F. once but when I was a teenager, many years ago.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Lisa, sorry to hear about the internet woes, but otherwise, life looks beautiful. You had fabulous northern California weather, and boy did you take in the sites. I’ve never seen the holocaust exhibit. That is quite powerful.

    I’m happy to see you’ve hosted visitors as well, giving you the opportunity to visit your favorite place.

    Liked by 2 people

  16. LB says:

    Lisa, what wonderful times you’ve been having! You experienced so many different places, and your photos are great. That Holocaust Memorial was disturbing, though. I’ve still not been to the one in DC.
    How was your photography workshop?
    Believe it or not, I am quite familiar with Orkney Springs: HS Band Camp, 3 summers in a row, ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • arlingwoman says:

      The workshop was great and I got some good pictures and learned how to use the new camera. Will write about it soon. So did you ever stay in DeRossi cottage? That’s where I was. Rustic, but clean! It was beautiful there.

      Like

  17. Lavinia Ross says:

    You’ve seen some beautiful country!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment