Sowing Seed, Sewing Felt

We’ve had the most delightful unseasonal weather for the President’s Day weekend. I took advantage of it to spend some time in the garden both days.

dscn4701

Lucky for me, my garlic plants were growing snug under some oak leaves all winter.

I was pleased to see that the garlic I planted last fall and thought had not come up, was thriving and at a very good stage for late February. The blue kale, on the other hand, was full of whitefly, so I removed it in short order. I was also pleased to see that the cutting celery had reseeded itself and come back.

dscn4699

Spinach seeds under the chicken wire, beets and scallions under the small tent, and carrots under the row cover. Turnips are in between the chicken wire and the tent. I haven’t cleaned up beyond the row cover.

I took a gamble that we might continue to have weather not much colder than the low forties and decided to plant some early crops. They are under shelters not necessarily to keep them warm, but to keep rabbits away from the tender shoots if they come up.

dscn4700

I dare the rabbits to get at these pea shoots!!!!

Last fall I was so disgusted, I didn’t do much in the way of planting for salad greens or root vegetables. I did have some nice greens through fall and up to now, including flat-leaf parsley and lettuce in the cold frame.

dscn4703

I should have planted these turnips in August, so I didn’t get to eat them this winter, but I’ll have them quite early this spring.

Yesterday I spent a few pleasurable hours in the small Plot Against Hunger garden. I weeded it and planted peas, lettuce, carrots and turnips for early crops. We’ll see if the rabbits get into it. Sometimes they’re oblivious to this garden, perhaps because they have to hop into it.

dscn4704

The stick structure is for the peas to climb. Hope springs eternal.

I turned over management of the large Plot garden that is outside the fence to my fabulous volunteer Jane, whom you’ve seen in other posts. Because of the extensive damage done by utility work in the garden last year, she decided to delineate paths and beds for planting. So far it’s looking fabulous. Sometimes putting another head to work on a problem provides the perfect solution.

dscn4706

This is why you talk with other people! I’d never have dealt with the utility worker incursions this way. Brava!!

I’ve also been sewing sea creatures, in the form of baby sea turtles and sand dollars. I just cut the turtles freehand, but thought better of that once I’d pinned them together, plopped one on the copier in pieces, and–voila!–had a pattern to use again.

dscn4698

Here’s the start of it…

The turtles are going to my little great nephews, who were in town late this week with their father. The sand dollars will be wending their way soon to Jan at Snail of Happiness, who kindly offered to make me a pussy hat that wasn’t pink.  I think I’m making out like a bandit on the deal.

dscn4712

This entry was posted in Community, Crafts, Local Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Sowing Seed, Sewing Felt

  1. Mary Tang says:

    Good to see new beginnings and surprises sprouting from the ground 🙂

    Like

  2. Seeing that you and Dr Snail are involved in a swap made me smile – good work! Those turtles are looking great! I hope your garden grows well and the pesky rabbits stay away. Are you walking regularly yet?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sylvie G says:

    Your garden looks promising this year. So many threasons : weather, rabbits, insects, it ‘s a miracle we eat veggies!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Just wow. As someone who tries to grow veg but is rather incompetent, I applaud your success!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You have been working hard!! But than again, garden work is always nicest in Srping, right? Your felt work is so lovely, The Snail will be very happy indeed!! xo Johanna
    ps I love the wire basket over the spinach!

    Liked by 1 person

    • arlingwoman says:

      Thanks, Johanna! I do love working in the garden. Usually everything comes right there. But it comes right with sewing, as well, especially when I’ve drawn the pattern myself. Let’s hope gardening is pleasant this year for all!

      Like

  6. Congratulations on the gardens and the felt. I like the wordplay in the title. For what it’s worth, our son Mat sinks wire netting down quite deep because rabbits burrow

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Laurie Graves says:

    Seems odd to read of garden work when we are buried beneath so much snow here. But spring will come to Maine, too. Love those turtles and sand dollars. How fun to think of them going across the ocean. My, those sand dollars are travelers!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. jennypellett says:

    Ah, I love those little turtles!
    And I wish my garden looked as productive as yours😄

    Like

  9. Brenda says:

    You really did get to do some gardening this weekend! I’m starting to get the itch to dig in the dirt, but will have to be satisfied with planting seedlings indoors for now. I hope you have better luck this year with your veggies (especially with critter incursions).

    Like

    • arlingwoman says:

      Thanks! I hope so too. It must be fun to start the seeds inside and watch them come up–a cure for cabin fever. I hope spring arrives in good time in your neck of the woods. of course, we could still have a snowstorm here, but it wouldn’t last long…

      Liked by 1 person

  10. KerryCan says:

    You’re watching little plants get bigger and I’m watching big snow drifts get smaller! Both make me happy–spring really is coming, it seems. If you filled your little sea creatures with ground walnut shells, they’d be perfect pin cushions!

    Like

    • arlingwoman says:

      Pin cushions! I had not thought of that. But I might feel bad sticking them!!! I AM beginning to look forward to planting this year, hoping that it will be better than last. If it’s worse than last, I’ll have to figure out why I’m gardening…

      Like

  11. Robin says:

    I love your sand dollars and turtles. You need a few hawks to sit around and guard the garden from the rabbits. Do those fake birds scare rabbits away? I have a plastic owl here, if you’re interested. We used to have it guarding the garden, but it scared off the herons who visit the pond. I don’t know if you remember him from my blog — Prince Owlbert. He needs a good home since we’re not using him anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

    • arlingwoman says:

      What a hoot! No pun intended. We do have a hawk, which has eaten rats and voles, but not so much the rabbits. I think the rabbits need a resident fox. I will have to look for Prince Owlbert on your blog. I can’t believe he scared the herons!!!

      Like

  12. badfish says:

    OK, the garden’s back!! Bet that feels good, eh? It’s hard to kill something like garlic, it kills vampires, you know.

    Liked by 1 person

    • arlingwoman says:

      I was afraid it hadn’t come up, which would have been the crown on last year’s disaster garden, but I have at least 6 of them. Can’t imagine cooking without it, and as you say, it keeps away vampires and maybe even zombies…

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Lisa, I’m glad you’ve had a taste of spring weather. It helps lift the spirits immeasurably. I love your little turtles! And what a great idea placing the felt on the printer to make a pattern. I don’t know if I would have thought of that, but now I’m tucking it away for future use. Thank you!

    It takes renewed optimism to continue gardening. I find insect infestations the most discouraging because once established, I feel it’s a lost cause for the season, or at least for that plant. I hope you have a better season.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. LB says:

    By going backwards, I can see the before and after of the paths in the Plot Against Hunger garden. I’m hoping that if I keep coming back here, I’ll be inspired!

    Liked by 1 person

    • arlingwoman says:

      Do you have garden space? I’m not a bed person, but Jane figured out paths and measured and bought the wood. Pretty impressive. I think it will work much better, especially with the incursions of utility workers…

      Like

      • LB says:

        I do have some space that might work in terms of sun, but in that I am essentially in the woods, or next to the woods, I doubt the garden would survive the deer, rabbits, groundhogs, skunks, racoons, etc.
        I’ve only been able to find a few flowers that survive the critters.

        Liked by 1 person

      • arlingwoman says:

        Eeeek. And those animals all have enough of their own food…

        Like

  15. Lavinia Ross says:

    The felt work is beautiful, and it is good to see your garden in progress!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

