A Little Tour of the Whole Garden

The garden is doing well. I have had tomatoes, a cucumber, some beans, and some peppers of late. There are, of course, lots of flowers.

DSCN5012

You’d hardly know there were vegetables in here…

I dropped a protective can over my late-planted okra, which is being eaten by an evil lagomorph.

DSCN5022

The rusty coffee can: beloved by gardeners, despised by those who have only seen Beatrix Potter illustrations…

My eggplants are beginning to recover from the yearly flea beetle attack and my sage is thriving and beautiful.

DSCN5016

Wait until you see the eggplants in a neighboring garden…this is sooooo lame.

Last weekend, I planted some fall crops–peas, lettuce and turnips–and built an enclosure I hope will keep out the voles and the rabbits. Nothing has come up yet.

DSCN5014

I’m hoping I can use this as my bean enclosure next summer. The survival of the peas will tell.

A few tomatoes are ripening, and I am hoping the surrounding flowers will distract.

DSCN5019

Distraction? Maybe…

Normally I head right to my garden and stay there, but today I took a little tour. Goodness there are some lovely gardens here.

DSCN5027

Get a load of those eggplants…

There are also novel ways to hide tomatoes from bird, vole and squirrel depredation.

DSCN5029

Wrap them up in orange netting!!!

And melons as well.

DSCN5030

Wrapped in several layers of bird netting.

There are lovely flowers all over.

DSCN5042

Goodness…

Some are deliberately planted and others are part of the garden produce.

DSCN5032

Some of the gardens are beautifully interplanted with flowers and vegetables.

DSCN5039

And Derrick and Jackie are not the only people with owls in their garden!

DSCN5041

This little guy looks as though he will not tolerate predators!

I didn’t do much today except take pictures and drop a can over the okra because I was waiting for my Elfa installation in the kitchen. Wowsers, it satisfies my workplace and cookbook storing needs!

DSCN5011

Now I just need my bar height chair to arrive! This is perfect for working and having a little coffee…

Next weekend I will be heading to Illinois to visit my family, so will not likely post or read your blogs most nights. But I’ll be back in touch the following week!

DSCN5025

Bees and butterflies were feasting today.

This entry was posted in Community, Local Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to A Little Tour of the Whole Garden

  1. Your garden and all the other gardens, make a fabulous display of flowers and edibles. I think Alys might like the photos of the netting around produce – it looks like a good idea. But is it just me? That owl looks a bit scary, perhaps it has been placed there to frighten off those rummaging critters…… Your office nook/cookbook library/ storage is very neat. As is your noticeboard – makes me realise I should probably tidy mine up šŸ™‚ But that wall looks apricot-pink in this photo – it’s fascinating how every photo makes it look a different colour. And finally your bee shot rivals our mutual friend Derricks for clarity. It’s great to see them at work! Have a wonderful visit with the family! See you when you return.

    Liked by 2 people

    • arlingwoman says:

      Some of these gardens put my produce to shame. I must look into what they are doing. Yes, the way changes, depending on the light, which is one reason I like it. There were actually two owl, both looking quite fierce. I think maybe they are indeed guards! I’ll be visiting blogs until the weekend then off! Glad you like the bee shot.

      Liked by 1 person

    • You’re right, Pauline. I’m intrigued. I’ve used pantyhose in the past, but the bird netting would give it more air circulation. Not nearly as adorable though as the orange tomato tutus. That’s going to be a tough act to follow. šŸ˜‰

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Mary Tang says:

    Tomatoes wearing tutus – that must be a line in a song.

    What a neat little writing corner!

    Have a good break and take care.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sylvie G says:

    What a beautiful garden and gardens ! Your workplace looks really efficient . Enjoy your time in Illinois

    Like

  4. Brenda says:

    You may remember that I commented back in the spring about my okra experiment and how they looked so pitiful and scraggly after I planted them outside. I wasn’t sure if they were going to make it, but now they are doing quite well!! No bunny depredation here–so far. Your garden looks wonderful and it’s always fun to peek into other gardens.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. KerryCan says:

    I love these community gardens. There’s a big area right in the Back Bay of Boston, very near Fenway Park, of community gardens and I wander through whenever we visit. It’s fascinating to see how much people can do in a small space and how individual the gardens are!

    Liked by 1 person

    • arlingwoman says:

      This one really looks like some kind of paradise in the summer, especially from above. A fellow gardener who lives across the street in a high rise took a photo once. What a view!

      Like

  6. Your Elfa system is perfect for that spot, Lisa. And the white frame and light-colored shelves are a perfect compliment to your color scheme. I love Elfa products. My craft area/closet is configured from Elfa, as is my son’s desk/closet combo. His room is small (10 x 10) so we removed the closet doors and installed an Elfa system. He now has shelves, drawers, a desk surface and a small area to hang clothes, but the ability o change when needed. You must LOVE spending time in that kitchen.

    I’m intrigued by the bird netting around the pumpkins and grinning over the orange tutus. That is really clever. I used pantyhose over my pumpkins, but the netting looks like it would breath more. Such great ideas.

    Have a wonderful time visiting home.

    Liked by 1 person

    • arlingwoman says:

      I am sitting at my new ‘desk’ now with the new bar height chair (which I put together tonight). The kitchen is great. It has the best lighting in the house (translate that to ‘nuclear blast,’ which is my preferred level) and I find that since the computer is out here, I hang out. It may change in the winter or when I start working more from home…we’ll see. Get yourself some orange tutu netting. I saw that squirrel after one of your pumpkins!!!

      Like

  7. Gardens are looking good, and so are the shelves. (Anything with books on looks good). Have a good trip.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. LisaDay says:

    Some great tips for my own garden, albeit a sad one this year. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Eliza Waters says:

    Some great ideas for protecting produce from critters. The gardens are neat and tidy, well-loved.
    Did you have a great vacation? I was away as well – it is good to get away from our daily routine.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Boomdeeadda says:

    This speaking of Tutu’s has me intriqued šŸ˜€ Love your new work area Lisa! It’s compact yet you have tons of opportunity for storage and/or display. Your garden seems to go on forever. Our summer is coming to a quick end. The mornings are awesomely cool and it’s darker longer. As a northerner, this is the time I love. I’ve actually swapped out most of my petunia’s for mums. Your garden owl is like a gargoyle waiting to scare the life out of some poor squirrel, LOL. Imagine if you will…la la la, bounce, skip, bounce, chirp…..Eeeeeek! That’s a momma squirrel out fetching some treats for the family and almost dying of a heart attack! It’ll be in my memoirs šŸ˜€ xk

    Liked by 1 person

    • arlingwoman says:

      I have done some fall planting, but I have all these flowers, which I will miss come December and I’m doing a balancing act between ripping out the extras and saving the veggies and ripping out too much joy in the color. It’s fun to stand in those flowers!! Wowsers! Soooo good to hear from you!!! I hope your summer has been fab, even if busy and that you got goodies from the garden. As for the squirrels, Feel like a friend of mine who referred to one that frequented their yard as “my archenemy” but it’s okay that you love them…

      Liked by 1 person

      • Boomdeeadda says:

        Archenemy, LOL. I actually had a naughty squirrel dig in my newly freshened planters today, ha! There were two of them playing on our front walk this evening. I was fawning over them when Jim said, “hey?! were’d all this dirt come from?” Them rascals made a holy mess! So maybe this squirrel whisperer needs a scarey owl too! LOL

        Liked by 1 person

      • arlingwoman says:

        See??? They’re like cute little thugs. The arch enemy squirrel would get in the garbage. One time while I was visiting, it ran along the top of a privacy fence with a loaf of bread in its mouth and stopped to look in the dining room window. Hilarious, greedy little bugger.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Boomdeeadda says:

        OMGosh! That would have been entertaining! That squirrel was my animal soul mate, I love bread and that’s probably what I’d snitch too, LOL!

        Liked by 1 person

      • arlingwoman says:

        It also would run away with whole ears of corn Joe would put out to feed multiple animals, first one then the others… Anyway, I saw a picture of some of the poor little thugs who were blown out of trees by Harvey and taken to animal shelters, sleeping exhaustedly in a pile on a towel…

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh heaven’s how nice for someone to rescue them in all that distress. Blessed soul .

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

