Flowers, Bees, Finches and Moths

This morning was another hot day and I got to the garden early. Given the damage done to the large Plot Against Hunger garden, the rats, and the general end of season malaise, I just did a little harvesting (more arugula in my own garden and lots of squash in the large plot), weeding and thinking about when certain plants should come out in preparation for fall. In this annus horribilis of the garden, the flowers have been the saving grace. The zinnias that we planted after the installation of the new fence are providing bouquets for numerous gardeners.

dscn4455

The zinnias certainly are thriving on the sidewalk border.

They’re also attracting bees, butterflies–and today–a hungry finch, whom I was not able to capture well with my camera.

dscn4461

I zoomed in here so you could see the finch body, head obscured by the flower, center left.

I captured some morning glories.

dscn4456

I love the way they look lit from within, and these have a nice stripe.

And some that were closing, looking like luscious cherry swirl ice cream cones. (Did I mention it was hot?)

dscn4457

Okay, only two have the ice cream cone look…

A bee was doing gymnastics.

dscn4459

Flowers can be so hard to navigate…

And an Ailanthus Webworm Moth was partaking of the garlic blossoms. Striking creature. I had to look it up, as I had not seen one before.

dscn4460

See the orange, white and black creature lower right.

This entry was posted in Community and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Flowers, Bees, Finches and Moths

  1. Mary Tang says:

    Love the gymnastic bee 🙂 So sorry to hear that the vegetable plot is not performing well; that is disappointing and discouraging. I know the feeling. However, the flowers sure lift one’s spirit!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have always been a lover of, and a cheerleader for zinnias. The fact that they are coming through splendidly, even during this annus hornbills, only deepens my respect for them. Not the showiest or most exquisitely delicate of flowers, their humble hardiness and happy color is truly a comfort when all is said and done.

    Liked by 2 people

    • arlingwoman says:

      I’m cutting bouquets every week and mixing in some mint and oregano and a little artemisia. I like their sturdiness as well. Cut, they last a week. They’ve been fabulous to have in replacement of my other flowers. Some of the colors are fabulous…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I understand entirely Lisa – my garden last summer was a hornbillus!! 🙂 The winds, the rain, the heat, the sleet – it was the summer from hell and I haven’t got a plan for this year still………. It is so despond making!! Still the zinnias are gorgeous and very cheerful and the bee is very clever. Not sure about the moth …… xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank goodness for the flowers

    Like

  5. Eliza Waters says:

    Beautiful zinnias – they do feed the soul. Sorry about the off year, it has been hard on many. I always wonder what folks did before there were grocery stores and what they raised was what they ate. A bad crop year would have been disastrous. I am always grateful to the farmers who grow our food. Bless them!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. KerryCan says:

    Leave it to zinnias to cheer a person up! They are so pretty and happy. And the photos of the morning glories are . . . well, glorious! I love the ice cream swirls. You are maintaining a very good attitude, in spite of everything . . .

    Like

  7. Sylvie G says:

    I really like the photo and the bee caption. It provides a whole new perspective on bees.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Bun Karyudo says:

    I’m sorry about the problems you’ve had, but at least the zinnias look beautiful. I’m afraid I had a bit of a struggle seeing the finch, though. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. petakaplan says:

    Morning glory….one of my all time favorites. Ephemeral.

    Peta

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Robbie says:

    my zinnias are making me smile this time of year, I agree they are special:-) My morning glories are taking over my garden, I need to tame them back a bit-but they are pretty in the early morning.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Lovely photos, Lisa. Your flowers are stunning. I’ve never had much luck growing zinnias, and there you are with a bumper crop. Isn’t it fun to find the birds, bees and moths or butterflies enjoying the flower nectar? It’s one of my favorite parts of time in the garden.

    I know you’ll squeeze every last day out of the season. xo

    Like

  12. Wendy says:

    I just had to stop by to say I love the zinnias, they look very striking. It’s great to see they’re attracting the bees and other creatures. I love the morning glory flowers, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Brenda says:

    Zinnias have always been too stiff and sturdy for my taste, but I’m coming around to liking them. Yours are beautiful and such a treat after your ugly vegetable summer.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. LB says:

    Those Morning Glories are beautiful, especially when closed! I’m so glad you shared these images. The zinnias are lovely, too, and all that they attract, too. I’m so glad these flowers bring beauty after such a difficult season in the garden

    Liked by 1 person

    • arlingwoman says:

      How would have thought the morning glories would be so attractive closed? Not me, but they sure caught my eye. I’ve got a fresh bouquet of zinnias, mint, oregano and artemisia for the week now. Have a good week!

      Like

  15. Lovely photos! Reminds us of the days in the East Coast! Have a wonderful week ahead.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Lavinia Ross says:

    The flowers are lovely, and the morning glories particularly attractive. Such a beautiful color!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. All the flowers are so pretty!

    Like

Leave a Reply

