Fall, Yes, Fall Planting…

I followed my general pattern this weekend by forgetting to take my camera to the garden. Bummer!  On Friday evening, I made a quick sweep of the Plot Against Hunger gardens and harvested collards, squash, “ghost eggplants,” and cucumbers as well as tomatoes.  There were also a few okra pods, which I added to some from my own garden to donate.  These I delivered to the AFAC cooler at the Courthouse Market on Saturday morning–a whole large paper grocery bag full.

Is this beautiful produce or what?

Is this beautiful produce or what?

I also stopped by my own garden and harvested a few things, but left the beans and kale for Saturday.  Unbelievably, it’s time to plant for fall.  We did this last weekend in the Plot Against Hunger garden, planting turnips, peas, basil, some zinnias, and maybe something else…it was a week ago.  This Saturday, I planted garlic, which I’ll harvest next June, arugula, mixed salad greens, radicchio, and peas.  Undoubtedly, the rabbits will eat all the pea shoots, but that’s life in the garden.  I have enough green beans to pickle for dilly beans, which I just love.  Hoping to do that tomorrow while the laundry is in!

I'm planning to make slaw with this little cabbage--a gift from a fellow gardener--combined with some of my kale.

I’m planning to make slaw with this little cabbage–a gift from a fellow gardener–combined with some of my kale.

This entry was posted in Community, Local Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

