Birds, Marsh, Thicket

This morning I looked out the kitchen window to see four Robins.  I’m not sure they even left this year, but they were having a grand old time in the ivy and the forsythia thicket.  Then I saw a Flicker, followed shortly by a Nuthatch, a Yellow Bellied Woodpecker and a Snowbird, otherwise known as a Dark-eyed Junco.  It must have been a bird convention of some sort.

DSCN5877

A muddy path through Dyke Marsh

It has been unbelievably temperate.  I am getting all my salad greens from my cold frame, and I went there today and got lettuces from it.  There was also arugula and chard, hardy leaves not under cover.  Next week, I should be able to harvest broccoli raab.  Who would have thought?

DSCN5876

Fishermen in the marsh…

On New Year’s Day, I went for a walk in Dyke Marsh south of Alexandria with a friend.  I had never walked the marsh paths before, choosing instead to kayak through it.  But it was worth the walk.  There were little beaches scoured out on the river bank, and shells and stones to see.

DSCN5873

Cattails and marsh grasses abounded.

DSCN5871

People were out sailing.

DSCN5874

A birder was out watching to see what flew around.

DSCN5875

He told us about a rarely sighted goose, called a Ross’ Goose that was on another path.  We found it, with lots of birders with amazing scopes watching it.  I found them incredibly generous, stepping back and offering views.

DSCN5883

It has black tail feathers and a pleasant, goose-y expression.

The goose seemed quite at home with its Canadian cousins.  Apparently flocks of Ross’ Geese will join up with flocks of Snow Geese, but the Ross’ Goose is rarely seen beyond the Great Plains, though it has shown up around here and in the lower Mississippi Valley according to Audubon.  I thought it was quite charming, and hope it has found its brethren.

DSCN5884

This entry was posted in Community, Local Pleasures and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Birds, Marsh, Thicket

  1. shoreacres says:

    I enjoyed your photos — and envy you your robins. I’d love to do some kayaking myself, but I can’t get the images of all those alligators we have lurking around out of my mind. People kayak here all the time, but there are stories!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. These are wonderful photographs. Thanks for sharing. Katie

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Eliza Waters says:

    The weather has been so mild since mid-Dec. with this weekend being astounding. I can remember only one or two January thaws like this in my whole life (LONG time, hehe).
    I’m envious that you are getting fresh greens, such a treat!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Nice to see that goose and what a lovely walk. The weather in Maine has been fairly mild—for Maine—but not as mild as yours, of course. As I like to say, weird is the new normal.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Lavinia Ross says:

    Beautiful winter scenes from your area, Lisa! Good to hear things are temperate there this year and your garden is still producing!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Wow! There’s a small upside to the planet dying then. (Sorry, little bit of black humour) Our warmer weather has only just arrived here, and even now she’s not sure if she will stick around. Those geese are rather attractive ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  7. SueW says:

    If only people were as accommodating as the geese.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. What a bird parade! It looks like you have spring there, and I would like to walk that route, too, so beautiful views.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. A lovely walk – we see differently on foot. If I had one, I’d take my hat off to you for kayaking.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Sylvie Ge says:

    What a great walk! It does not look like winter at all.

    Liked by 2 people

  11. It’s been quite warm here too this winter. Very odd. I love that you can see the birds and tell one from another. I love them and we have robins here all year, I think. They have been very busy the last couple of weeks so it looks like no winter and an early summer again. I’m glad you are still harvesting.

    Liked by 2 people

  12. Hi Lisa, I’m glad you’re enjoying greens from your cold frame along with moderate weather. How delightful to see robins outside your door. We get very few here, so I’m always delighted to spot one. Your photos are lovely! You live in a beautiful place.

    Liked by 2 people

  13. Sheryl says:

    Great photos – what a beautiful locale!

    Liked by 2 people

  14. Maria says:

    Nice images Lisa, and they show that winter is still enviable where you are.

    Liked by 2 people

  15. willedare says:

    How terrific that someone set aside those acres as a park! Thank you for the photos. I grew up until I was ten in Washington, DC (near the National Cathedral) but never visited wetlands along the river. We did play in Rock Creek Park a fair amount, though… Hurrah for greens in winter from your own cold frame!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • arlingwoman says:

      If you were near the Cathedral, maybe you were in what is locally called “the ravine” periodically adventuring. Mostly I kayak the marsh, but discovered it was nice to walk in as well!

      Like

Leave a comment